Jump to content


Photo

Orion Atlas EQ-G now shipping with dual saddle ?

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 otocycle

otocycle

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

Posted 21 August 2013 - 07:23 PM

Hi - I searched the Mounts forum but didn't see anything about this change. UPS just dropped off a new Orion Atlas EQ-G and it has an upgraded dual (Vixen/Losmandy) saddle, like the AZ mount. A user manual addendum announced the change. (See attached photo)

I guess I will try it before buying the ADM Dual Saddle upgrade, but it was a pleasant surprise. Does anyone know if this changes the choice of ADM puck adapter (old vs. new) ?

Attached Files



#2 frito

frito

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1183
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2012
  • Loc: Fremont, CA

Posted 21 August 2013 - 08:39 PM

Orion's site mentions it in the product discription. I have friends with atlases but have never looked at them close enough to notice if it always had the dual saddle or not, I always thought it was just vixen stock though just like the Sirius mount. good move by orion making the change if they did.


"The versatile Atlas EQ-G mount head sports a dual-width dovetail attachment saddle which allows secure attachment of both narrow "Vixen-style" or wider "Losmandy-style" dovetail mounting plates."

#3 frolinmod

frolinmod

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1834
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:16 PM

The Orion Atlas EQ-G has been sold with a dual saddle as standard equipment for at least a few years now. Mine came with one.

#4 Pauls72

Pauls72

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 621
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2007
  • Loc: LaPorte, IN

Posted 21 August 2013 - 11:20 PM

They used to sell the wide saddle separately (Orion p/n #07950 and #07951). I inquired about buying the dual width saddle a couple of years ago. No they didn't sell the dual saddle, but I was told it was a good idea. Now I see they do not sell a saddle separately.

#5 frolinmod

frolinmod

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1834
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 22 August 2013 - 01:02 AM

Right, Orion used to sell them. I saw them on Orion's website just last year. Maybe it was a close out. Way less expensive than replacing with an ADM saddle. Maybe they didn't sell well. I guess ADM is now the only alternative? The ADM one is better anyway.

#6 johnd39818

johnd39818

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2012

Posted 22 August 2013 - 01:03 AM

I bought mine January 2012 and it came with dual saddle.

#7 ghataa

ghataa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Central, NJ

Posted 22 August 2013 - 07:10 AM

I just received mine and it has a dual saddle.

George

#8 otocycle

otocycle

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

Posted 22 August 2013 - 12:02 PM

OK...sounds like I've been asleep for a while, and Orion has shipped dual saddles since at least 2012. The user manual addendum for the dual saddle is dated 02/13.

Amazon still lists a wide (Losmandy) compatible saddle for about $30, but may be just for pre-2009 production.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics