Jump to content


Photo

CGEM-DX Power Adapter Question

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 fetoma

fetoma

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Southern New Jersey

Posted 25 August 2013 - 05:32 PM

Well all of us CGEM/DX owners know we don't get an AC power supply with our mounts, just the cigarette lighter adapter. I refuse to pay about $70 for one from Celestron, so I searched for something cheaper ($14.29 shipped), and below is what I found might work. My only question is that it puts out 7 amps and the Celestron puts out 5 amps. I know the cigarette plug has a replaceable fuse in it, so this might work fine. I am not an expert in the electrical field and would like to get an opinion from some of you folks here.

Will this be OK and not damage the mount's electronics?

http://www.ebay.com/...cigarette-li...

Thanks!!! :shrug:

#2 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4498
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 25 August 2013 - 06:25 PM

Why don't you just get a 110v AC to 12v DC 5A power supply with a 5.5 x 2.1 connector.

http://www.ebay.com/...Adapter-Powe...

Either one will work.

Stan

#3 fetoma

fetoma

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Southern New Jersey

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:03 PM

Stan,

I was still trying to utilize the screw lock on the plug, but that is a good find and a good price.

#4 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 25 August 2013 - 08:50 PM

My only question is that it puts out 7 amps and the Celestron puts out 5 amps. I know the cigarette plug has a replaceable fuse in it, so this might work fine. I am not an expert in the electrical field and would like to get an opinion from some of you folks here.

Will this be OK and not damage the mount's electronics?

http://www.ebay.com/...cigarette-li...

Thanks!!! :shrug:


A device is only going to pull the current it needs. The adapter could provide 10,000 amps and your device would only pull the amount it needs. Voltage is key and making sure the adapter can provide enough current/amps.

PS: I like the route you went. You keep a fuse inline. Some of those power bricks will provide more amps and voltage if they blow so a fuse is a good idea to keep your equipment from frying.

#5 fetoma

fetoma

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Southern New Jersey

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:11 PM

Thanks Dave.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics