Jump to content


Photo

Bray Tablet Twin Arm Alt-Azimuth Mount

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 John Huntley

John Huntley

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 926
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2006
  • Loc: South West England

Posted 26 August 2013 - 02:28 PM

Does anyone have experience of using a Bray Tablet Mount ?

I've been looking for a really sturdy alt-azimuth mount to cope with a 35lb 6 foot long refractor optical tube.

The Bray seems to have a fearsome reputation for load carrying when mated with the right tripod - does this extend to long tubed scopes ?

Alternatives I've had suggested are the T-Rex mount and the APM AzMaxLoad mount. I have the possibility to buy a pre-owned Bray Tablet Twin Arm which should cost somewhat less than the other two I mention but the saving will be a false one of course if the Bray can't tame the tube length to a reasonable degree at least.

Thanks :)

#2 Rutilus

Rutilus

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1861
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2010

Posted 27 August 2013 - 03:16 PM

John - I don't have any experience with the Bray mount (almost bought one a while back). If you are going down the alt-az road then you may consider making a mount. Here is a picture of my 6 inch f/15 Istar lens. The whole mount and pier cost me about 30 GBP to make. Inside the base I have a car jack so that I can move the scope up and down.
While I like the alt-az mount, the scope is going into my observatory on a driven Fullerscope MK1V equatorial.

Attached Files



#3 Rutilus

Rutilus

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1861
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2010

Posted 27 August 2013 - 03:18 PM

On the MK1V.

Attached Files



#4 igibbs99

igibbs99

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 05 Nov 2005

Posted 27 August 2013 - 04:46 PM

John

I don't have any experience with a long refractor like yours, but I was quite happy with the way the Bray mount handled a C14 I once owned. It has also handled well my 6" f/8 refractor and 15kg Mak Cass, mounted at the same time. As you already suspect, the 35lb weight of your scope wouldn't trouble the Tablet, but I can't speak to how well it would cope with the length. I expect there is some correlation between weight capacity and OTA length capacity, though.

I also installed digital setting circles on my Tablet, if you're interested in having that capability.

Regards
Ian

#5 John Huntley

John Huntley

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 926
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2006
  • Loc: South West England

Posted 27 August 2013 - 06:11 PM

Thanks folks, thats very useful feedback. Making a mount is on my options list and may well come into play - I'll search the net for some different design options but it's great to see that these large scopes can be handled on a DIY mount :)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics