Jump to content


Photo

CGEM-DX beta software

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Stargazer78

Stargazer78

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Susanville California

Posted 31 August 2013 - 12:51 PM

Has this been released? Just wondering if this is what I got when I upgraded my firmware last night. My guiding did improve after installing this.

#2 Stargazer78

Stargazer78

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Susanville California

Posted 31 August 2013 - 06:30 PM

Any one lol?

#3 mich_al

mich_al

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2467
  • Joined: 10 May 2009
  • Loc: Rural central lower Michigan Yellow Skies

Posted 31 August 2013 - 06:56 PM

Normally I'd send you off to the Yahoo CGEM group but Yahoo groups is down. Ir seems they improved it until it didn't work anymore. Been over a week. In the mean time you could go to the Celestron site http://teamcelestron...mode=membership or at least post the version number that you installed so someone here has a chance at answering.

#4 budman1961

budman1961

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2011
  • Loc: Springfield, MO

Posted 31 August 2013 - 06:56 PM

The 31.33 motor control SW is still in beta form, and does cure the dec cogging issues for most folks. As far as I know it isnt in general release yet.

#5 dragonslayer1

dragonslayer1

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1030
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2012
  • Loc: SLC, UT

Posted 31 August 2013 - 07:06 PM

As to Yahoo, they gave them 2 steel ballbearings and locked them in a padded cell, they lost one and broke the other :foreheadslap:,,, I think they screwed up the whole system, the mallincam group page is so messed up you can't even navigate it anymore,,, so I think all the Yahoo support groups are Tango Uniform :tonofbricks:
Kasey

#6 CharlesW

CharlesW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1386
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Chula Vista & Indio, CA

Posted 31 August 2013 - 08:09 PM

As to Yahoo, they gave them 2 steel ballbearings and locked them in a padded cell, they lost one and broke the other :foreheadslap:,,, I think they screwed up the whole system, the mallincam group page is so messed up you can't even navigate it anymore,,, so I think all the Yahoo support groups are Tango Uniform :tonofbricks:

Funny you say that, I just tried the Software Bisque group and couldn't gt a thing.
Kasey



#7 Stargazer78

Stargazer78

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Susanville California

Posted 31 August 2013 - 09:49 PM

Going to give it another shot tonight. If it doesn't work ill just have to wait until I get approved for the beta software. The funny thing about this is I bought this mount because I wanted to upgrade mounts. ... Its hard to believe a company can sell a product that doesn't do what its supposed to do. But regardless of my current issues. I am still impressed with this mount!

#8 Stargazer78

Stargazer78

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Susanville California

Posted 31 August 2013 - 09:54 PM

Normally I'd send you off to the Yahoo CGEM group but Yahoo groups is down. Ir seems they improved it until it didn't work anymore. Been over a week. In the mean time you could go to the Celestron site http://teamcelestron...mode=membership or at least post the version number that you installed so someone here has a chance at answering.


Sorry the software versions I installed are are HC gem 5.21.2336
MC 6.19 6.19

#9 mich_al

mich_al

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2467
  • Joined: 10 May 2009
  • Loc: Rural central lower Michigan Yellow Skies

Posted 31 August 2013 - 10:24 PM

As to Yahoo, they gave them 2 steel ballbearings and locked them in a padded cell, they lost one and broke the other :foreheadslap:,,, I think they screwed up the whole system, the mallincam group page is so messed up you can't even navigate it anymore,,, so I think all the Yahoo support groups are Tango Uniform :tonofbricks:

Funny you say that, I just tried the Software Bisque group and couldn't gt a thing.
Kasey


There is only one group I know of that could screw something up so bad.

So I think we know what congress did on their Summer vacation.

#10 cn register 5

cn register 5

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2012

Posted 01 September 2013 - 02:30 AM

Have the TOS for this site changed? Is vendor bashing now compulsory?

The reality is that the Yahoo groups are still available. I have just checked and it comes up as normal.

The Yahoo groups are far better for getting good, reliable information about issues than this site. This is because the people there are for the most part users who can give reasoned, technical answers. They are not drowned out by the multitude of immature trollers and nay sayers that infest this site.

The Yaahoo sites also have control software that allows the moderators to do their job. This is contrast to here where all they can do is clear up the mess afterwards - essentially acting as censors, not moderators. From what I can see that's a problem with the software here that doesn't give them the control they need.

To answer the original question, no the beta software has not been released so you don't have it but it's available by joining the TeamCelestron group and getting it. The reasons it's not released yet are explained there, one or two people reporting unexpected behaviour with slewing.

Chris

#11 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1033
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 01 September 2013 - 03:17 AM

Gday Chris

The reality is that the Yahoo groups are still available. I have just checked and it comes up as normal.



You may still be one of the lucky ones. :thewave:
Yahoo has been rolling out a new interface to individual users they wish to treat as labrats.
Its gone from hopelessy unusable a week ago, to just plain bad now.
Read http://yahoo.uservoi...m/forums/209451
for a few opinions on how much it is affecting those who get hit.
Its basically Yahoo using random group members as alpha testers. :praying: :smashpc:

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia
( who got hit early in the process )

#12 cn register 5

cn register 5

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2012

Posted 01 September 2013 - 04:03 AM

The Yahoo UI has changed for me as well and I don't like it much. But it's still available. I can see posts and post. If I can't cope with it I'll use the email interface.

But I don't think that the sort of immature rants that we have seen here will solve anything.

Regardless of the UI the content of the Yahoo astronomical sites is still a better option for reliable, honest and unbiased information than this is.

Chris

#13 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:06 AM

I have found that to not be true. With my travails with my first CGEM, all I got was "user error" or "power supply" from the group. Here they helped identify the problem and make sure that I was testing correctly.

#14 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15782
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:14 AM

And that's a good thing, Mark. I'm glad you seem to have got things sorted. But the truth is that "pilot error" and "power" do account for at least 95% of the problems people have with go-to mounts.

#15 mich_al

mich_al

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2467
  • Joined: 10 May 2009
  • Loc: Rural central lower Michigan Yellow Skies

Posted 01 September 2013 - 09:49 AM

And that's a good thing, Mark. I'm glad you seem to have got things sorted. But the truth is that "pilot error" and "power" do account for at least 95% of the problems people have with go-to mounts.



95% Really? Now that's a bit high isn't it?

#16 budman1961

budman1961

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2011
  • Loc: Springfield, MO

Posted 01 September 2013 - 10:07 AM

Any chance of getting this runaway back on topic? Really!

#17 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 01 September 2013 - 10:30 AM

Nope :)

#18 budman1961

budman1961

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2011
  • Loc: Springfield, MO

Posted 01 September 2013 - 10:48 AM

Chris.....you crack me up! :lol:

Seriously though, I wonder what the success rate is for a person with a serious question, to actually get it answered?? Maybe I am asking too much also. :bangbangbang:

#19 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 01 September 2013 - 12:10 PM

OK Back on topic. The only official place to get the beta firmware is teamcelestron. They are no happy with any other distribution. So you really need to join there. There is plenty to read on the topic there and any questions can be answered by a celestron engineer.

#20 mich_al

mich_al

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2467
  • Joined: 10 May 2009
  • Loc: Rural central lower Michigan Yellow Skies

Posted 01 September 2013 - 12:58 PM

OK Back on topic. The only official place to get the beta firmware is teamcelestron.


http://teamcelestron...mode=membership

#21 Stargazer78

Stargazer78

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Susanville California

Posted 01 September 2013 - 01:00 PM

signed up yesterday. Just waiting to be approved!






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics