Jump to content


Photo

Cg5 and phd not guiding

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 orionn1

orionn1

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012

Posted 06 September 2013 - 07:39 AM

Is there a setting on the cg5 under utilities for tracking that needs to be turned off to let the phd do its thing
It always seem to saturate
I ran a test last night and tracked for 2 min but when I started imaging it stopped tracking also have lots of saturation , so I moved the user to the left .
Can't seem to find a star that doesn't eventually saturates out

#2 Stargazer78

Stargazer78

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Susanville California

Posted 06 September 2013 - 12:35 PM

How long are your guide exposures?

#3 orionn1

orionn1

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012

Posted 06 September 2013 - 02:11 PM

I've only got up to 2 mins before I get the bumping sound

#4 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33735
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 06 September 2013 - 02:17 PM

It always seem to saturate


Can you describe what you mean by "saturate"?

#5 Footbag

Footbag

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5761
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2009
  • Loc: Scranton, PA

Posted 06 September 2013 - 02:24 PM

You should be selecting exposure lengths of 1-5s in PHD. PHD loops the exposures and uses the change in position of your guidestar to make corrections to the mount.

The alarm sounds when you lose the guide star.

#6 Falcon-

Falcon-

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4869
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2009
  • Loc: Gambier Island, BC, Canada

Posted 06 September 2013 - 07:02 PM

It always seem to saturate


Can you describe what you mean by "saturate"?


I also would like to know what you mean by Saturate.

Also, what guide camera and guide scope are you using?






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics