• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 GageCook

GageCook

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Gallatin, TN

Posted 10 September 2013 - 07:50 PM

Was wondering if anyone has some suggestions for a good back pack scope? Alternatively, a scope small enough to fit into a back pack and a tripod that is plenty sturdy yet can be collapsed enough to carry easily in one hand or strap across the top of the back pack. Meade makes the ETX 80BB, but I was hoping for something a little more powerful. Preferably a refractor or SCT. Less collimation. I have an astromaster 114 but, I'm looking for something of higher quality. The AM 114 GEM is extremely shaky. I mean... don't look at it too hard or it trembles. :twitch:

#2 SleepyAstronomer

SleepyAstronomer

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Deep South

Posted 10 September 2013 - 11:18 PM

What's your price range?

Celestron's SLT series has some decent sized scopes in terms of power and aperture, and several of them don't seem too large. The mounts are GOTO and seem to be fairly dependable in terms of sturdiness. I've seen several of these scopes at local star parties, and the owners all seemed very pleased with them. I've never personally had the chance to try out any of the SLT's. Hopefully there will be someone along shortly who has more first hand experience with this line of scopes than I.

#3 ZeusB

ZeusB

Vostok 1

• Loc: Chicago

Posted 10 September 2013 - 11:53 PM

Sounds like you want something a little bigger, but for what it's worth, I backpacked this scope rim-to-rim in the Grand Canyon:

http://www.telescope...rontravelsco...

It was small and lightweight enough that it didn't cut into essentials for the trip, and I was still able to see the Hercules cluster at Phantom Ranch.

Guess it depends on your definition of backpacking.

#4 t.r.

t.r.

Aurora

• Loc: 1123,6536,5321

Posted 11 September 2013 - 08:11 AM