What is your opinion of Orion's "Explorer" 25X100

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 tomcat141

tomcat141

Ranger 4

• Loc: SE Ohio

Posted 11 September 2013 - 04:05 PM

Hello, Newbie here, although I have had a Zhumell 10" dob for a while now. I now have in my possesion a pair of Orion 25X100 "Explorer" binoculars. I understand these have been replaced by the "Giant view" 25 X100's.

I think these Explorers are a steal, but want to know how they compare to the newer Giant view series offered now. I would also like to know how they compare to other offerings of current models of Garrett, Oberwerk and others in the $300 range.

These appear to be in good condition and come with the Orion Paragon tripod and the hard case for the binos. I have only looked through them at terrestrial objects thus far, and the views appear sharp to my old eyes. I am able to view while using my glasses if I press them against the folded eyepiece cup.

Any thoughts, experiences or opinions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Tom

#2 Man in a Tub

Man in a Tub

Voyager 1

• Loc: Fogpatch, CA

Posted 11 September 2013 - 04:53 PM

Littlegreenman is a member who is very knowledgeable and experienced with older giant binoculars. If he doesn't catch your post, I recommend that you send him a private message.

Clear skies to you,

#3 tomcat141

tomcat141

Ranger 4

Posted 11 September 2013 - 04:59 PM

Thank you Todd. I am hoping to see some relatively clear skies tonight for a first light test, but living in Ohio it is iffy at best :(

#4 tomcat141

tomcat141

Ranger 4

Posted 12 September 2013 - 11:45 AM