Jump to content


Photo

StarSense Behavior

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 pjglad

pjglad

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 234
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:06 PM

I have a CPC800 and StarSense. The alignment works great. All objects dead center. I have had a few weird issues with the HC. I entered M057 and M062 appeared in the LCD. I then entered the NGC equivalent of M057 and same thing - a different NGC number appeared in the LCD. Also, I entered the Moon then slewed to it. However, about an hour later when the Moon was at 10 degrees it was no longer in the Solar System list - Just Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Anyone else having these kinds of issues?

#2 Sorny

Sorny

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 772
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Southern MN

Posted 11 September 2013 - 08:17 PM

Sounds like slew limits and filter issues. Change the limits and you'll be fine.

#3 pjglad

pjglad

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 234
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011

Posted 12 September 2013 - 11:28 AM

Thanks. I've never used slew limits. I checked and the default slew limits for the HC that ships with the CPC800 are 0/90. Also, I checked the default slew limits on the StarSense HC and they are 10/70.

#4 Bob Griffiths

Bob Griffiths

    Getting Grouchy

  • *****
  • Posts: 10594
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Frederick Maryland

Posted 12 September 2013 - 02:25 PM

Glad to see you figured it out with the help of Sorny..
We all learned something about the starsence unit overriding the scope
Good thing to know..

BobG

#5 pjglad

pjglad

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 234
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011

Posted 12 September 2013 - 05:00 PM

Actually StarSense does not override the scope. StarSense AutoAlign consists of a StarSense Camera and a new HC. The new HC's firmware manages the catalogues based on slew limits.

#6 Sorny

Sorny

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 772
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Southern MN

Posted 12 September 2013 - 07:46 PM

Thanks. I've never used slew limits. I checked and the default slew limits for the HC that ships with the CPC800 are 0/90. Also, I checked the default slew limits on the StarSense HC and they are 10/70.


Glad it was an easy "fix" for you. I suspected that is what it was since I've seen things "disappear" from the menus after I set custom slew limits on my NexStar 5SE and my CPC1100, and your description sounded almost identical to what I experienced with slew limits set.

I think the SS handcontroller defaults to 10/70 as a safety precaution since it is a universal hand controller, and not all mounts can always move to 0/90 (many SLT mounted scopes could run into serious issues with wide open slew limits).

The manual does mention slew limits under setup, but not that they default to 10/70.

I'm still waiting for my StarSense... Not because I have issues with alignment, but because I'm all about nifty gadgets. ;)

#7 pjglad

pjglad

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 234
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011

Posted 12 September 2013 - 08:42 PM

Sorny - Thanks for your help. StarSense is awesome! I purchased a replacement coiled cable which is shorter. Let me know if you want after you get your StarSense.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics