• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ArcticArchitect

ArcticArchitect

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 15 September 2013 - 05:35 AM

Hello

I'm very new to this and I'm guessing someone has asked this before so please excuse me if that is the case.

I recently bought a brand new Celestron NexStar 5se for an extremely good price on Ebay (less than half price!). When it arrived I opened everything up and thought all was good, however when I got to the setup I found the hand control is in German. Is there a way to change this?

I've read that you can somehow change to an earlier firmware to get it in to English but I have no idea on how to do this.

Also someone has offered me a GoTo hand controller from a CG5 scope with the same six stripe connection, does anyone know if that will work as a straight swap? It's a bit confusing as their seem to be lots of different models of hand controller from Celestron but they all look the same.

Any help would really be appreciated to a newbie who want's to get in to Astronomy and Astrophotography. Thanks in advance!

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 15 September 2013 - 08:51 AM

About the 5SE, first determine if you have the v4 or v5 hand controller. The v5 is also called the NexStar+. The + hand controller has scalloped arrow keys, more english on the keys, and the NexStar "meatball" logo on the key on the lowest left hand key.

If you have the NextStar+ controller you'll need the CFM utility from Celestron.com.
If you have the v4 controller you'll need the HCupdate.exe utility from Celestron

Info on how to perform the upgrade is on Celestron.com or www.nexstarsite.com