Jump to content


Photo

ED walls??

  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 22 September 2013 - 09:58 PM

Hi all.
I am looking at putting a dome only ED on top of a homebuilt structure.
Do you have any Reccomendations as to how to go about this? :confused:

#2 1965healy

1965healy

    The Snarkster

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 9048
  • Joined: 23 Jun 2007
  • Loc: San Antonio, TX

Posted 23 September 2013 - 01:13 AM

All the dimensions for a base structure are on their site

http://explora-dome....ng_Assembly_...

#3 Bob Griffiths

Bob Griffiths

    Getting Grouchy

  • *****
  • Posts: 10649
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Frederick Maryland

Posted 23 September 2013 - 07:24 AM

The link posted by 1965Shealey above is all you really need...

The file is for the most part identical to the ones we as very early ED owners used to construct our base buildings very few minor changes BUT I think I would ask Dan specifics as to how the newest Metal rotation ring (which replaced the original wood then its plastic ring) is secured ... I understand it quite simple but it is a little different then the earlier versions..

You may also take the time to look at the Yahoo ED group and get some answers to any questions you may have..

Bob G.

Bob G.

#4 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 23 September 2013 - 11:02 AM

Thanks.
I found their site rather confusing, which may be why I never found this?

#5 SFGagnon

SFGagnon

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Carrollton, VA

Posted 23 September 2013 - 11:24 AM

I recently built a structure that's largely based on ED's instructions. The majority of the build is documented here:

My Exploradome Adventure

#6 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 23 September 2013 - 11:44 AM

That's helpful.
Did you find their wall height to Tall, just right, too Short?

#7 SFGagnon

SFGagnon

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Carrollton, VA

Posted 23 September 2013 - 12:42 PM

For me, the 4' stud height is working out. I'm about 5' 10" and the dome's ring is just about at eye level and the very bottom of the opening is a bit above my head. That turns out to be a nice level as it shields me from all surrounding lights. The telescope (still on a tripod until the shop I'm working with runs out of higher paying jobs) pivots at a point that's below the ring, so an object needs to have something like a 20-25 degree elevation before it clears the bottom of the opening. That's not really a problem for me due to the surrounding trees and houses. I -wished- it were taller after cracking my head on the beams a few times, but it's probably as tall as it can be without needing to raise the scope to awkward levels. I do need a stepladder to properly secure the lower shutter door, as well as to look through the finder scope in certain positions, though.

#8 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 23 September 2013 - 12:48 PM

Useful information. As for me, I think I will make it a little shorter, as I have a good horizon in most directions at my site, and I don't like having the dome slit too far above my head.

#9 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 24 September 2013 - 10:57 AM

What was your total cost for the Base structure?

#10 SFGagnon

SFGagnon

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Carrollton, VA

Posted 24 September 2013 - 05:03 PM

The lumber for the whole structure, delivered, was just under $1000. Figure there's another $300 or so in hardware and $80 or so in paint. I don't have the exact costs on-hand, but that's pretty close.

#11 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 24 September 2013 - 05:21 PM

-Which makes me consider just getting the round building kit, Nondeluxe.

#12 Bob Griffiths

Bob Griffiths

    Getting Grouchy

  • *****
  • Posts: 10649
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Frederick Maryland

Posted 25 September 2013 - 09:09 AM

My 8 foot 10x12 foot elevated deck and the required 6x6 posts and 2x12 floor joists spaced 12 inches on center PLUS all the lumber to build my 10x10 the building to sit on top of the deck and the 2 sheets of plywood to build my rotation ring ran me slightly under $800 in 2006 ....My electrical, paint and rain gutters ran me $250 ....

The amount of storage room ...none of which is under the dome itself is much much more then in a round building..and believe me in the 7 years mine as been up and running I now sure store a lot of "stuff" inside

Bob G.

#13 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 25 September 2013 - 11:57 AM

Yes, the extra space is defineteley an asset.

#14 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 25 September 2013 - 08:12 PM

How, exactly, did you build the Rotation ring?
(I'm no carpenter :) )

#15 Bob Griffiths

Bob Griffiths

    Getting Grouchy

  • *****
  • Posts: 10649
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Frederick Maryland

Posted 26 September 2013 - 07:27 AM

How, exactly, did you build the Rotation ring?
(I'm no carpenter :) )


Mine is one of the very very first ED ever made..( in the first dozen or so made and sold) and at the time Dan did not even offer a pre-made rotation ring.. Nor did he offer adjustable wheels, or even black lined domes ... Like I said mine is a very early model.

BUT he did give you detailed plans on how to cut out the ring sections out of 4x8 sheets of plywood..and how to connect them ...

Actually making them was pretty easy ... PLUS I knew it was both ROUND and FLAT when I finished...!

Bob G.
BTW...my walls are all of 3 foot tall...

#16 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 26 September 2013 - 09:51 AM

Thanks Bob.

#17 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 26 September 2013 - 04:16 PM

What did you use for your siding?

#18 SFGagnon

SFGagnon

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Carrollton, VA

Posted 27 September 2013 - 11:35 AM

I used T1-11 plywood sheeting. It was one of the most costly components of the building. Had I made the walls a bit shorter, I could have cut this cost in half by being able to use both halves of an 8' x 4' sheet.

#19 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:32 PM

Does anyone know know of a cheaper siding that is still totally weather proof? (I get some pretty wonky weather at my site :) )

#20 Bob Griffiths

Bob Griffiths

    Getting Grouchy

  • *****
  • Posts: 10649
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Frederick Maryland

Posted 28 September 2013 - 08:17 AM

I too used T-111 ...

BUT I discovered the darn stuff soaked up paint like a sponge ...took quite a few coats .....

IF I had to do it over I would use vinyl or aluminum siding ...

Bob G

#21 wavecloud

wavecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2013

Posted 28 September 2013 - 09:42 AM

Vinyl or aluminum... h'm...
What sort of,vinyl is good for this?

#22 Megabusa

Megabusa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 715
  • Joined: 28 May 2012
  • Loc: Page ,AZ

Posted 01 October 2013 - 12:19 AM

I too used T-111 ...

BUT I discovered the darn stuff soaked up paint like a sponge ...took quite a few coats .....



Bob G

Ha Bob!It's been a while that I seen one of your post ,Thought maybe you got a new Vette or something, Good to see your OK . O-By-The-Way your not suppose to mix 2-Gal water with one gal Paint :lol:



I Used 5/8"thick 4'x 8' Smart Siding and it comes primed for paint ,I paid @ $28.00 a sheet , If you do like SFGagnon said and make your height 4'.0" you can use one piece for 8 foot of wall,

#23 Bob Griffiths

Bob Griffiths

    Getting Grouchy

  • *****
  • Posts: 10649
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Frederick Maryland

Posted 01 October 2013 - 07:14 AM

I too used T-111 ...

BUT I discovered the darn stuff soaked up paint like a sponge ...took quite a few coats .....



Bob G

Ha Bob!It's been a while that I seen one of your post ,Thought maybe you got a new Vette or something, Good to see your OK . O-By-The-Way your not suppose to mix 2-Gal water with one gal Paint :lol:



I Used 5/8"thick 4'x 8' Smart Siding and it comes primed for paint ,I paid @ $28.00 a sheet , If you do like SFGagnon said and make your height 4'.0" you can use one piece for 8 foot of wall,


I'm NOT that cheap...only mixed the paint half and half with water LOL

No more Vettes...have 6 now in the garages and wife said enough is enough and for once I agree with her...

Bob G.

#24 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86521
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 01 October 2013 - 09:13 AM

I have T111 on the house & the Smart Siding on my dobservatory. On the sunny sides where the T111 is, it definitely requires a lot of upkeep. Haven't noticed this with the Smart Siding.

#25 Megabusa

Megabusa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 715
  • Joined: 28 May 2012
  • Loc: Page ,AZ

Posted 01 October 2013 - 10:08 AM












No more Vettes...have 6 now in the garages and wife said enough is enough and for once I agree with her...

Bob G. [/quote] My Wife said the same thing to me when I started to add EPs , But when I say I think you have enough Boots , (She loves Western Boots) She tells me :shameonyou:It's not that I want these Boots ! It's that I NEED these Boots, And you want those EPs . Ya gotta lov em :foreheadslap: :lol:






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics