CPC motor problems. Somebody help me!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 wilami

wilami

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:46 AM

I'm having a great problem with a CPC 800 ALT motor. When press the tracking button (up/down) on the hand control, the motor moves in a excessive tracking velocity ( a rate larger than 9), the noise of the motor tracking is also excessive. Even when i reduce the tracking rate, it moves with a maxima excessive velocity. This not happens on the AZM motor. Such problem makes any allignment impossible. I'm a Physics teacher from a little city (Juazeiro do Norte) on the nordest of Brazil. This telescope was acquired with government financial support on the International Year of Astronomy. When it was working, we have used the telescope to make scientific divulgation in my community. So, this telescope was transported to various public places so that people can watch the sky. Send the telescope to tecnical suport in USA is impossible to me due to the costs.

Please, if somebody knows how can i fix the problem myself, help me.

#2 guangtou

guangtou

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 29 September 2013 - 08:44 PM

Similar to this?

http://www.cloudynig...6095856/page...

I have a new motor on order. It is $82 from Celestron website

#3 wilami

wilami

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:33 PM

Exactly the same problem.

#4 guangtou

guangtou

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 30 September 2013 - 03:24 AM

I got this response from the Yahoo CPC Group:

"The encoder has stopped working.
You will need to replace the entire motor/gearbox assembly.