Photo

what's a good telescope to pair w/ a 120 mm apo?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 jfoley68

jfoley68

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:37 PM

Dear Folks,

I have a very nice Orion EON 120 mm (f/7.5) apochromatic refractor, which I have found to be a great all around scope for my purposes. But I'm interested in using it in conjunction with a second telescope, mounted together a double-headed Explore Scientific Twilight II mount.

So, what's a good "companion" scope for a 120 mm apo?

I'm still a newbie compared to many on this site, but I like a wide variety of visual observing, especially lunar, planetary, and star clusters. With my apo (and my light pollution levels) deep sky observing (faint fuzzies) has been a bit limited. Maybe I can fix that with a second scope?

So, what do you suggest?

I know some people like a "Mak and Frac" combination, putting a fairly fast widefield refractor on one side, and a high-power Mak on the other.

I also see the wisdom in pairing the refractor with a nice big reflector (8" or so), to have the "best of both worlds" optical designs.

What does the collective wisdom of Cloudy Nights suggest? ;-)

Thanks!

Jon
Saint Paul, MN

#2 jfoley68

jfoley68

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:23 PM

I should mention again that I would like to mount these two scopes *side-by-side* on the same ES Twilight II mount.

The mount has two Vixen style saddles, and can handle about 20-30 pounds on each side. I plan to put the refractor on one side, and something else on the other, and have them pointing exactly (with some minor adjustments) in the same direction.

#3 kfiscus

kfiscus

Vanguard

• Loc: Albert Lea, MN, USA

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:26 PM

I had a rig sorta like this when I started out in 1980. Two 4" scopes of different focal lengths acting as counterweights for each other on a 2" galvanized pipe GEM.

I realize that your two scopes would be on the same side of the mount.