A CCD inspector thread...

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 CounterWeight

CounterWeight

Cosmos

• Loc: Palo alto, CA.

Posted 05 October 2013 - 09:04 PM

Prompted by Madratter thread on his scope setup and test I just wanted to start a named thread on this software. I've never used it but will be before too long I hope? Anyway a place to post experience and usage tips... I am afraid to try it on my current setup!

#2 Madratter

Madratter

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 05 October 2013 - 09:36 PM

Best reason not to try it now is so you don't waste your 30 day trial.

I can think of 5 main uses for this software:
1) Collimation
2) Eliminated Tilt (with adjustable focusers)
3) Determining best focus to minimize curvature
4) Determining best spacing with reducers to eliminate curvature.
5) Grading images.

For me, I have other software that I use to grade images. A free alternative is Deep Sky Stacker. But what I actually use is the grading within Sequence Generator Pro.

In my experience the collimation information tends to jump around and I found it frustrating to use. I tried collimating my C8 with it and ended up giving up. I could do much better doing it the old fashioned way with star tests. Your mileage may very.

That is not to say that the collimation portion is worthless. In particular, I like looking at it with my best frames from a shoot. If the value is high that tells me I need to collimate even if I don't use the tools here to do it.

The tilt section could be very valuable if I actually had an adjustable focuser. I don't currently but I have heard many people used it successfully for that purpose, and it is easy to use.

What I REALLY like about this program is characterizing the curvature of my system. It is very enlightening to see how changing focus away from best at center can really help your overall FWHM.

#3 orlyandico

orlyandico

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Singapore

Posted 05 October 2013 - 10:20 PM