Photo

Why do my stars vary from image to image?

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Stelios

Stelios

Surveyor 1

• Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 06 October 2013 - 02:49 AM

I am a beginner, so I expect to take lousy pics. But I don't understand why, in the same session (using Backyard EOS to take 18 consecutive lights) the shape of the stars varies from very elongated ones on one image (M57a1) to (for me) reasonable (M57b1). Nobody touched the scope, camera or laptop between those exposures. There was some light wind, but I doubt that could've done it. Most puzzling, the *better* image came later than the poor one.

Both are single 45-second light frames, Canon T3i unguided, ED80 on a CG-5 (ASPA-aligned).

Another question is--should I bother stacking images that different, or should I manually review them and edit out the ones with the elongated stars?

This is the one with the real bad stars, M57a1 (a crop of a larger image):

Attached Files

#2 Stelios

Stelios

Surveyor 1

Posted 06 October 2013 - 02:50 AM

... and this is the better one M57b1, about 10 frames later (no human intervention):

Attached Files

#3 Maverick199

Maverick199

Voyager 1

• Loc: India

Posted 06 October 2013 - 02:52 AM

Due to periodic error and Mount not properly polar aligned. After the ASPA, do a Polar alignment by following instructions on the hand controller. That will get you round stars on your 80mm for 45 secs without issues with perhaps an odd Sub or two thrown out.

Also check balance.

You should check all light frames manually and toss out the one's which show star streaks etc., and then stack them.

#4 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

Refractor wienie no more

• Administrators
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 06 October 2013 - 09:22 AM

You must discard the bad frames.

Declination drift from polar misalignment should be a constant across all frames - and the trails shown above are in RA (RA is up and down in that image).