99 replies to this topic

#1 Stipe Vladova

Stipe Vladova

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Split, Croatia

Posted 12 October 2013 - 09:59 AM

Hi to all!

I've some experience by optimizing achromatic objectives (Fraunhofer type) with success. It is about 80mm f5 and 60mm f11 eBay achromats. They were actually slight undercorrected in green and since 80mm is C-F corrected it showed a lot purple-reddish fringing around bright objects since it is only f5. It had thin tape spacers between the elements which I had removed and put oil instead of air. Slight spherical undercorrection vanished and the color correction changed. Red wasn't focused together with blue anymore, but moved somewhat towards the green line. That completely improved image sharpness because purple fringing vanished and remained only dark blue. I observed Jupiter and it was surprisingly sharp with much more details than before, and that made this little shorty usable for planet observation. I read something about it on the net and found that 19th century achromats were corrected like this and they called that a "planetary color shift". What is refractive index of the oil? Since Fraunhofer objective has R2 curve slightly smaller radius than R3, is then any chance that slightly negative thin "oil meniscus" caused all this new features. And what about Synta 6" f5 Fraunhofer achtomat, I read some reviews that show these large lenses slightly undercorrected with purple fringing and this would be worth trying to optimize at the same way. I don't know is the airspace also thin on 6" f5.

#2 skywatcher101

skywatcher101

Vostok 1

Posted 12 October 2013 - 03:07 PM

This is very interesting. Have a synta f8, how do you go about converting to an "oil space" objective?

Paul

#3 Stipe Vladova

Stipe Vladova

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 12 October 2013 - 04:55 PM