Jump to content


Photo

autostar II Cable

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 sirreg2112

sirreg2112

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2010

Posted 17 October 2013 - 01:10 PM

I need a cable to connect the autostar II to the LX-200R. I've seen elsewhere that a regular telephone headset cable will work. Is this true?

Thanks

Reg

#2 maugi88

maugi88

    Postasaurusrex

  • -----
  • Posts: 3391
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2013
  • Loc: SE MN

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:11 PM

Compared my autostar II cable to corded phone headset cord. Looks the same.
Don't know if gage matters.

#3 nitegeezer

nitegeezer

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 1250
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2007

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:18 PM

It uses the same connector but most phone cables are either 2 or 4 conductor but the connector will support 6 conductors. I don't know if the other 2 conductors are needed but I had a 6 conductor cable so I used it. A 2 conductor cable will not work.

#4 maugi88

maugi88

    Postasaurusrex

  • -----
  • Posts: 3391
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2013
  • Loc: SE MN

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:35 PM

My auto star and phone cords are four conductor

#5 LoveChina61

LoveChina61

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2009

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:48 PM

I would carefully double-check this further before plugging it in and giving it a whirl. If I remember correctly, the colored wires should be reversed when viewing the connectors at each end of the line. For example, if one of the connectors (viewed from left to right) has Red, Blue, Yellow, and then Green wires coming out of it, then the connector on the other end (also viewed from left to right) should have the wires reversed so that you see Green, Yellow, Blue, and Red.

Double-check to be sure cause I almost fried my LX200 Classic scope trying to make the correct cable that would allow me to control the scope with my laptop. Smoke was pouring forth and I had to quickly yank the wire out to save the scope.

It might seem ridicules to have to pay about $20 for the cable on eBay (for example), but it may end up being the best $20 you ever spent :)

#6 cavefrog

cavefrog

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1959
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2008
  • Loc: loozyanna

Posted 17 October 2013 - 11:36 PM

yes it is true. a telephone HANDSET (wire for between the base and what you hold to your ear) with 4 conductors (must have 4 conductors not 2) will work. That is what I use on an LX200 GPS with an Autostar II. It looks like the same thing on a classic, but it will not work on a classic. (runaways freezes and such ilk)

Theo

#7 AnhTuan

AnhTuan

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2011
  • Loc: Rochester NY 14606

Posted 25 October 2013 - 01:29 PM

It's a typical RJ11 4-pin type connector. I don't know if the wire is crossed or straight. Check the color on the wire.

For straigh cable, position 1 should always has the same wire color. For crossed wire, position 1 has wire in position 6, and position 6 has wire position 1.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics