Jump to content


Photo

AstroTortilla vs UniMap for plate solving

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#26 Phillip Easton

Phillip Easton

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 314
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2010
  • Loc: DFW

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:22 AM

That should help. Just a FYI I am imaging at 0.887 arcsec-pix. I set my limits too 0.75 - 1.0 arcsecperpix. Field is set to 45 and sigma 6 or 7. My exposure is 10sec. It solves in about 10 sec.

Cheers!

#27 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:52 AM

i've been using arcminwidth - but you can also use arcsecperpix?

#28 Coastal

Coastal

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2009
  • Loc: Vancouver island, Canada

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:05 AM

i've been using arcminwidth - but you can also use arcsecperpix?


If I understand correctly, you're using arcminwidth with a range of 0-200. Certainly doesn't sound ideal. Use Pinpoint to calculate your actual image scale and try 0.1 lower and 0.1 higher (ie I use 1.6 and 1.8 for my 1.8"/px scale) using arcsecperpix.

#29 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:17 AM

Well Astrometry itself tells me my correct pixel scale. :) which (was) 2.68"/pixel as opposed to... 2.68"/pixel according to the Starizona calculator (http://starizona.com...calc_pixel.aspx)

I don't have PinPoint, and I have no interest in Elbrus (you need to set the camera angle correctly every time?!?!?!?!?!) but I will try being very exact.

BTW nice idea with the USB power box.. I went with a similar method (R78B05 DC-DC converter to provide 5V for my USB hub form a battery). Thankfully I don't need 7.5V, but the camera cooler sucks power like there's no tomorrow...

#30 Moromete

Moromete

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Romania

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:26 AM

Why don't you try Unimap if you are using hints already?

#31 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 21 October 2013 - 11:03 AM

astrometry works for me (if a bit slow), I like their development model (and the fact there's a lot of published research that uses their engine), etc. etc.

the reality is I only do 1-2 slews per session, so that's 1-2 solves per session. 20-second solves barely annoy me. I would like things to go faster, but the current scheme isn't killing me.

#32 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27218
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 26 October 2013 - 09:19 PM

I have an MI250 controlled by SiTech. Since it's an ASCOM driven program, I'll assume that it'll work with this setup. Is there anything that in the SiTech system that may cause a problem with the mount interfacing with AT?

Thanks!

David

#33 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 26 October 2013 - 11:54 PM

Dave, not that I know of. AT only knows how to talk to ASCOM (and nothing else) on the mount side, so anything with a working ASCOM driver that supports resyncs will work.

#34 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 27 October 2013 - 07:43 AM

Dave, it works good :)

#35 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27218
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 27 October 2013 - 10:00 AM

Dave, it works good :)


That's all I needed to read! Thanks, Chris.

David

#36 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27218
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 27 October 2013 - 10:01 AM

Dave, not that I know of. AT only knows how to talk to ASCOM (and nothing else) on the mount side, so anything with a working ASCOM driver that supports resyncs will work.


Well, I'll have to download it and give it a try. Thanks for the quick reply!

David

#37 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:12 AM

One thing to consider, what are you imaging with? You might try out Sequence Generator Pro. It can use the localized astrometry.net server you install with AT. Free plate solving included with acquisition automation kis really me. And, they're adding dome/roof support this version.

#38 Gvs

Gvs

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 05 November 2013 - 06:43 AM

It is possible to refactor Astrotortilla to point to http://nova.astrometry.net/ which is up an running.

live dot astronomy dot net has issues.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics