Photo

I bought a used EXT 125 EC. Need eyepieces!!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 yakima

yakima

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 20 October 2013 - 10:25 AM

I bought a used EXT 125 EC with only 1 eyepiece. It's an older one and it might have a problem with the gears on one side of the forks. It makes a clicking noise when it moves. but it does move. I also want to get a few relatively cheap eyepieces so I can view the upcoming Comet ISON.
any recommendations?

#2 AngryHandyman

AngryHandyman

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Nanaimo, BC

Posted 20 October 2013 - 10:31 AM

32mm GSO plossl, 20mm, 15mm, 9mm, 6mm 66 degree Enhanced Wide Angles from Agena Astro. Comfortable, inexpensive and work really well in my F10 SCT.

#3 yakima

yakima

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 20 October 2013 - 10:36 AM

Wow! That was quick. I'm a newbie to astronomy. probably got a little burned when I bought the scope but I think I can get it working enough.
I found a eyepiece set from celestron. Curious if it's good enough for my needs?

#4 Lee.S

Lee.S

Explorer 1

• Loc: New Mexico USA

Posted 20 October 2013 - 10:51 AM

welcome Yakima,under the Telescope specific forums,Mead ext,you will find lots of members and information on the EXT's all of which are eager to share their advise

#5 *skyguy*

*skyguy*

Vanguard

• Loc: Western New York

Posted 20 October 2013 - 10:54 AM

The Celestron Eyepiece Kit ... good choice! It has all the eyepieces and filters you will need. The ETX-125 ... due to its long focal length (f/15) ... doesn't need expensive, exotic eyepieces to achieve great performance. The Plossl eyepieces included in the kit will work just fine! I've owned an ETX-125 for many years and it's a great scope. Have fun and enjoy your new scope!

#6 AngryHandyman

AngryHandyman

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Nanaimo, BC

Posted 20 October 2013 - 10:57 AM