Jump to content


Photo

Resource hog

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 CharlesW

CharlesW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1323
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Chula Vista & Indio, CA

Posted 20 October 2013 - 11:25 AM

Im trying to track down a problem with my ASI120mm camera and I noticed something in task manager. My ISP provides free McAfee virus scanning apps so that's what I use. Part of that provides for constant scanning of files that I access to run other apps. But, that function is eating up 28 to 30% of my CPU on a quad core machine. Methinks I'll turn that off unless I'm interwebbing.

#2 The Mighty Mo

The Mighty Mo

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 747
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2013
  • Loc: South of North, North of South, Somewhere on the 3rd Rock

Posted 20 October 2013 - 12:07 PM

Yes McAfee is malware itself. Excellent free alternatives are Avast Antivirus or Microsoft Security Essentials/Windows Defender.

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15662
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 20 October 2013 - 05:28 PM

Ditch it and find something else. I've been using Microsoft Security Essentials for years now with good results.

#4 Cliff Hipsher

Cliff Hipsher

    Apollo

  • ***--
  • Posts: 1147
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008
  • Loc: North Chesterfield, VA

Posted 20 October 2013 - 06:51 PM

Ditch McAfee and get either Avast or MS Security Essentials .

I run Avast on one box, and MSSE on my laptop. Both are very good products.

Stay away from Norton as well. It is known for using 100% CPU time for no apparent reason.

#5 okieav8r

okieav8r

    I'd rather be flying!

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 4498
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2009
  • Loc: Oklahoma!

Posted 20 October 2013 - 11:05 PM

Ditch it and find something else. I've been using Microsoft Security Essentials for years now with good results.


Same here. It's pretty much invisible, and it does a good job of keeping me safe.

#6 Tora

Tora

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Illinois

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:27 AM

Ditch it and find something else. I've been using Microsoft Security Essentials for years now with good results.


Same here. It's pretty much invisible, and it does a good job of keeping me safe.


+1 on Security Essentials. IMHO it does as good of a job as any of the virus protection costing money.

#7 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:48 AM

Yup. Antivirus is a hog.

#8 psandelle

psandelle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 680
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:03 AM

Another +1 for Avast...but I always turn my antivirus software off unless I'm going online. I keep my laptop very simple, with nothing but astro software and one browser (for updating drivers), and stay off-line as much as possible. The less possible problems the better.

Paul

#9 joseph07081

joseph07081

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Chippewa, PA

Posted 21 October 2013 - 04:07 PM

Ditch it and find something else. I've been using Microsoft Security Essentials for years now with good results.


+1

#10 obin robinson

obin robinson

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2656
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2012
  • Loc: League City, TX

Posted 23 October 2013 - 07:48 AM

Ditch it and find something else. I've been using Microsoft Security Essentials for years now with good results.


Same here. No problems at all.

obin :grin:

#11 CharlesW

CharlesW

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1323
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Chula Vista & Indio, CA

Posted 25 October 2013 - 09:55 PM

I deleted McAfee and activated Win 8 Defender. Almost zero processor load now. Thanks very much to all.

#12 jedimasterk

jedimasterk

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2006

Posted 30 November 2013 - 09:57 PM

Agree with Avast or MS Security Essentials. I use Avast, Malwarebytes, and Commodo Firewall. Only three I need and they are all free. Well I did pay for Malwarebytes Pro. But it was worth getting real time protection.

#13 Mogster

Mogster

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 503
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2004
  • Loc: Manchester, England

Posted 01 December 2013 - 12:42 PM

After a nasty ransom ware virus incident I've moved from Eset NOD32 to Bit Defender. BD seems very impressive.

You can't be too careful these days unfortunately.

#14 jedimasterk

jedimasterk

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2006

Posted 01 December 2013 - 09:48 PM

http://www.neowin.ne...tool-20-build-9

Amazing how us Windows users now need to install another app just to get rid of ransomware. Glad I'm dual booting Win and Linux.

#15 Vondragonnoggin

Vondragonnoggin

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4955
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2010
  • Loc: Southern CA, USA

Posted 05 December 2013 - 05:16 AM

MS Security Essentials have upped their game lately. I switched to it and have no issues. Previously used AVG Free for years. It's now all bloated and demanding for pro upgrade too much. Their corporate package is nice though. Good licensing for low cost for Enterprise version.

#16 panhard

panhard

    It's All Good

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 13661
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted 05 December 2013 - 11:04 AM

I agree about Norton being a real hog.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics