Jump to content


Photo

CGEM hand control

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 MHamburg

MHamburg

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2006
  • Loc: Brooklyn, NY/Berkshires, MA

Posted 20 October 2013 - 04:50 PM

Does anyone have an idea of how much of an extension you could attach to the CGEM HC? I already have the Scope Stuff extension and was wondering if something even longer might be rigged? Thanks for the replies.
Michael

#2 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4569
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 20 October 2013 - 06:44 PM

I just hard wired in an extra long cable.

Stan

Attached Files



#3 ur7x

ur7x

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2012

Posted 21 October 2013 - 08:26 AM

The 5v TTL/Cmos level signals are not known for traveling great distances. I would suspect that 15 maybe 20 feet is about the best you are going to get. If you need longer switch to NexRemote and a Serial RS232 signal... those can go about 100'

#4 dragonslayer1

dragonslayer1

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1027
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2012
  • Loc: SLC, UT

Posted 21 October 2013 - 11:55 AM

I also have the one extension but saw where you can use NexRemote with a gamepad as renmote control? then have a tutorial on Celestron site, but is dated 2-21-05, wonder how applicable it is today?
""http://www.celestron...689&nav=0,210""
Kasey

#5 MHamburg

MHamburg

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2006
  • Loc: Brooklyn, NY/Berkshires, MA

Posted 21 October 2013 - 02:58 PM

Thanks for the replies, everyone. If I wanted to avoid using Nexremote,Stan, what are the details of your hard wiring?
Michael

#6 ur7x

ur7x

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2012

Posted 21 October 2013 - 04:27 PM

Yes this is what I have done.

Essentially I have a steel pier in my back yard with dedicated A/C power plus 3 Cat 6 lines and a CGEM pier adapter on top. About 40' away inside our "outdoor" kitchen is my imaging and mount control computer... Under cover, in a warm(er) environment.

One of the Cat6 lines is being used to drive a USB extender... That will be used to drive a USB game controller and the USB line to the imaging camera.

The Second Cat6 line is being used long haul to carry a RS232 signal to the mount from NexRemote and "TheSky". At the mount I'm now using a Celestron OE 93965 "PC Port" converter to convert the RS232 signal to a TTL signal that the mount understands. I also built (based on help from several forums and websites) my own version of a Serial -> TTL converter... but as of yet I have not been able to get it to work... It is coming back to work for the radio shop here to take a look as to why it failed. If you don't mind the hand controller hanging out there you can use the "butt connector" on the hand controller to do the same thing... But I find the little 93965 considerably more elegant... and now my hand control is safe in its box... Only used as a backup.

The third Cat 6 line is there because cabling is cheap, it fit in the conduit, is for future expansion, and it was easy to pull now.

You will find that physically you will need something at the scope (at least once in a while) to perform the initial alignment of the mount and then one in while to fine tune it, like when the neighbor's kid bumps it or fiddles with the clutches. That is what I'm using a game controller for. It gets plugged into my my long haul USB adapter and I can do a 2+4 star align fairly quickly with it... (Faster than the neighbor's starsense can set up :cool:) It is easier in the dark to drive the scope with a joystick then buttons... But that is just me.

Once that is done you can then unplug the game controller and drive everything from NexRemote (and TheSky)

I guess technically you could perform an alignment remotely with the wife, or a kid looking in the scope yelling Left a bit.. now right... up up up... down... just a sec... up... right there... But what a pain.

Why am I doing all of this? Well... This is about as close to a permanent dome that I could talk the wife into.

#7 ur7x

ur7x

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2012

Posted 21 October 2013 - 04:30 PM

IMO you can just buy a 6 pin/6 conductor black curly wire and a RJ12 female -> female connector from digikey for $8 and call it a day.

#8 MHamburg

MHamburg

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2006
  • Loc: Brooklyn, NY/Berkshires, MA

Posted 21 October 2013 - 06:04 PM

That sounds like a good and simple solution.
Michael

#9 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4569
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 21 October 2013 - 07:27 PM

IMO you can just buy a 6 pin/6 conductor black curly wire and a RJ12 female -> female connector from digikey for $8 and call it a day.


I did that for a very short time. That set up adds 4 more connectors to the link from HC to mount and the "splice" was always getting caught on something and unplugging itself. Got tired of having to realign multiple times a night.

I just buy a 7' coiled 6p6c RJ12 cable and hard wire it into the HC. I have 8 HC done this way and have been using them for quite a few years now.

Stan

#10 A. Viegas

A. Viegas

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1085
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2012
  • Loc: New York City/ CT

Posted 21 October 2013 - 08:44 PM

If you have an extra laptop with wireless... Then you can use teamviewer which is free. Have Nextremote setup on the laptop and do all the alignment/ telescope driving from inside your warm room...

Al

#11 ur7x

ur7x

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2012

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:12 PM

Four? Que? There are only two extra in the middle... and the RJ12's snap in... with the right "coupler" they are actually hard to take apart. The little tab thingies get buried in the connector and you need a straightened paperclip to flick them out. I've never had a RJ11, RJ12 or RJ45 that "snaps" in ever come apart.

#12 germana1

germana1

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Joined: 14 May 2009
  • Loc: New Jersey

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:15 PM

Mine has never pulled out either,I also use the same extension with the IEQ 45 as they are strait through rj12s.
Pete

#13 ur7x

ur7x

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2012

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:23 PM

I do remote control take over all of the time in my home network... I'm not sure I understand what you are suggesting... I'm trying to reduce the amount of gear and wires out at the scope...

With your plan to do the initial align, I need to take out a second laptop to the scope to wirelessly take over of the computer running NetRemote.... While that would work... A gamepad is not only lighter, cheaper, and less fragile, but it is easier to use too...

Unless I'm missing something here. The challenge is still doing the first align... As far as I can tell you still need to look through the eyepiece to perform the initial align (not counting StarSense ;) .

#14 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4569
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 21 October 2013 - 10:46 PM

I just prefer the cleaner coupling of one continuous cable. Not hard for me to do. Only takes me a few minutes, but I understand it's not for everyone.

Stan

PS; the 4 connections are:

RJ12(1)> <(2)in line coupler(3)> <(4)RJ12 :grin:

#15 Orion58

Orion58

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 914
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Southern Wisconsin

Posted 22 October 2013 - 02:01 PM

I have a couple of these in sequence - I believe the 25' and the 7' and the hand controller works fine.

http://www.astrophot...ion-cable-cgem/

#16 MHamburg

MHamburg

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2006
  • Loc: Brooklyn, NY/Berkshires, MA

Posted 22 October 2013 - 05:08 PM

Orion58,
Just ordered a 14' length. Thanks for the resource.
Stan, this is a little more expensive than the cable from Digi-Key, but what the heck, it's literally plug-and-play. Thanks everyone.
Michael

#17 Orion58

Orion58

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 914
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Southern Wisconsin

Posted 23 October 2013 - 07:34 PM

Happy to help. :grin:

#18 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4569
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 23 October 2013 - 10:28 PM

Orion58,
Just ordered a 14' length. Thanks for the resource.
Stan, this is a little more expensive than the cable from Digi-Key, but what the heck, it's literally plug-and-play. Thanks everyone.
Michael


Michael,

If it doesn't do the job, let me know. I have an exchange program. ;)

Stan

#19 MHamburg

MHamburg

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2006
  • Loc: Brooklyn, NY/Berkshires, MA

Posted 24 October 2013 - 08:54 AM

Will do and thanks again.
Michael

#20 dragonslayer1

dragonslayer1

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1027
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2012
  • Loc: SLC, UT

Posted 24 October 2013 - 09:01 AM

Now if they could come up with an extension for the SSAG camera to computer cable all would be great,,,
Kasey






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics