• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Tony Pilato

Tony Pilato

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:12 AM

Good morning,

I am a total newbie to Wide Angle Astrophotography. I was trying to image nebula in Cygnus using a 105mm lens on an OM-1 35mm camera with a Red #29 filter and Hypered Tech Pan piggybacked on a C11 with a G11 Losmandy Mount.

I was off axis auto guiding through a Giant Easy Guider at F/11 for 2 hours. Needless to say mirror flop created star trails to varying degrees. Unacceptable. Tracking was good via ST-4 readouts –nothing higher than A2’s

So, what do I do? Can’t afford a guide scope to mount on my C11.

First, I am going to ditch the filter, exposure too long... Ideally, I am looking for about 30 to 90 minutes depending on F/Stop.

So my question is:

Knowing that at 135mm, the tolerance and drift time is:

Lens: 135 mm
Tolerance(arc sec):40"
Drift Time (seconds)2.5 sec.

And supposing that the G11 mount has an average period error of about 10” or less, can I get away with not guiding for about 1 hour? Less? Anyone with experience not guiding with this setup or something similar?

With this setup can I off axis auto guide with no trailing assuming some mirror flop for 1hour? Less? Anyone with experience off axis auto guiding with this setup or something similar?

Any other ideas or experience with 105mm lens, film, off axis auto guiding or not guiding with a SCT and an equatorial mount?

Thanks in advance.

Tony

#2 Michal1

Michal1

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Czech Republic, Central Europe

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:40 AM

Are you sure that the camera doesn't move with respect to the telescope's tube? Some people use finder scopes to guide.

#3 TxStars

TxStars

Apollo

• Loc: Lost In Space

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:59 AM

I would add a brass shim to the baffle tube of the C11 to reduce mirror flop.
This will help all photography with it as well as guiding.