What can be done with this mount?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 leonalex12

leonalex12

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 04 November 2013 - 02:54 PM

I'm pretty new to the skies, and I have an Orion Starblast 6. I would really like to put it on an equatorial mount, to give it a try. Everyone that has one says the are great once you get used to it.

Now, I don't want to shell out $500 for one and then figure out that it's not for me. So here is where the real question is:

I found someone on Craigslist selling a Bushnell telescope for $25 and it looks like it has an equatorial with it. I haven't yet contacted them (though I plan to do so), ASSUMING that it is possible to put my Starblast on this thing safely. I'm sure that it is clearly not the best, but at least it is a start, right? A cheap start, at that.

Posted Image Now, I looked it up and I am thinking that scope is this one.

Anyone have any input?

#2 t.r.

t.r.

Skylab

• Loc: 1123,6536,5321

Posted 04 November 2013 - 03:10 PM

For $25 bucks...give it a go! Whats there to loose...$25 bucks?!?! You could blow that at the slots in about 10 minutes. :lol:
The Starblast is 12 pounds though and this mount looks light.

#3 Stelios

Stelios

Surveyor 1

• Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 04 November 2013 - 03:13 PM

That mount is way too flimsy to carry the Starblast.

That's not a start, it's going backwards. Don't do it.

Your Starblast weighs 12lbs (OTA only) so it requires a fairly decent mount, at a minimum an Orion Astroview.

But I wouldn't buy an EQ mount unless it had a tracking drive (and in today's age, GoTo as well). Without tracking, you'd be better off with a more intuitive alt-az mount and fine-motion controls.

I know you don't want to spend a lot of money. That's OK--enjoy your scope as is. Spending the money to achieve negative results will only turn you off the hobby.

#4 GolfSierra

GolfSierra

Vostok 1

• Loc: Michigan

Posted 04 November 2013 - 03:18 PM