• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 kenrenard

kenrenard

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Dunmore, PA

Posted 07 November 2013 - 08:18 AM

I haven't seen many in depth reviews on these little scopes and thought I would write my own experiences. I am by no means an expert on testing telescopes so take this with a grain of salt. I have owned the Astro Tech 72 Refractor for a bit over 18 months. I bought it from Highpoint Scientific in red at the bequest of my oldest daughter. Our jump into telescope ownership started with a Sky Scanner 100 and moved quickly to an Orion XT8. We still own both telescopes and enjoy them both on their own merits.
The Astro Tech 72 weighs in at a bit over 5 lbs, it has a sliding dew shield, and a rotating focuser ( which I found is very nice!). I also purchase the reticle finder. Asking the folks at Highpoint how to mount it they suggested I look into Universal Astronomics. I spoke with Larry on the phone and through e-mail and we worked out a UA Dwarf Star which I would mount on a SLIK 700DX tripod I already owned. It happened I was taking the family to Maine and New Hampshire for a vacation and I stopped in Larry's shop to pick up the mount in Massachusetts. Larry found the Dwarf Star worked with my tripod well and gave advice on a handle and eyepiece tray. He spend extra time checking what my needs were. A really great person to work with.
Once home I mounted the AT72 to the Dwarf Star and had some looks. I found scanning the sky with a 24mm Panoptic to be a beautiful experience. The Moon looked great with no false color that I could see. On Venus it does show color at high magnification as on Jupiter.