My second dark sky trip!

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 StrangeDejavu

StrangeDejavu

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Florida

Posted 07 November 2013 - 08:07 PM

Woohoo, i'm about 24 hours away from standing in a blue/gray zone. I've been observing for almost 9 months now, but this will only be my second trip. :) Back in March, I ordered an Omni XLT 102, and went on a family camping trip only a few days later. I had no clue how to use my telescope or how to traverse the night sky. I had no SkySafari/Stelarrium and only knew how to find one object- M42. This was my one and only target I was able to observe that night, but wow it was enough to make me await this day all summer. Now that I have a much deeper understanding of my equipment and how to navigate the sky, I have a few targets I have planned.

At the top of my list is M31, this is a must for me. This will be my first view of a non-light polluted galaxy, as all i've seen thus far have been from the middle of a white zone. Right after sunset, i'll be starting out on M13. After M13, i'll jump up to Andromeda for M31. After M31, i'll be jumping over and checking out M33. From here, i'll drop down and check out the North American Nebula, Crescent Nebula and finally over to the Veil.

The best view I have will be of the West, North West and North skies. Southern and Eastern skies are covered with really tall pines which will obstruct my view unless it's near zenith. Given this, any recommendations? Any "can't miss" targets?

I can't wait. :woohoo:

#2 JayinUT

JayinUT

I'm not Sleepy

• Loc: Utah

Posted 07 November 2013 - 08:33 PM

Coingrats and enjoy your time. Besides M31 try for M33 which is nearby.

#3 labmand

labmand

Messenger

• Loc: Michigan USA

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:23 PM

How about a few doubles?
May want to start with Albireo (Cygni), and Almach
(Andromedae) deep sky is nice but doubles rock!

#4 chazcheese

chazcheese

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Phoenix, Az