29 replies to this topic

#1 Arpita

Arpita

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:10 AM

Hello,
I am new to telescopes.
I want to gift a telescope to my husband who is an amateur celestial viewer.
I have shortlisted two telescopes.
Need your opinion for the same.
First one is from a local shop in INDIA, who has more than 20 years of experience in making telescopes.
The specs are as follows:
Diameter/Aperture: 76mm
Focal Length: 700mm
Optical Design Newtonian
Lens Material Glass
Diameter 76mm
Focal Length 700mm
Scondary Mirror Diameter 20mm
F/ratio F/9.2
Faintest Steller Magnitude 12
Resoving Power 1.5
Focuser diameter 1.25”
Eyepiece(s) 1.25” - 25mm and 9mm
Barlow Lens 3x Barlow
Mount Type Alt-Azimuth
Slow-motion Control Vertical Only
Accessory Tray Wall-to-wall
Tube Weight 1.76Kgs
Tube Dimension(dia. x length) 12.5cm x 68.5cm
Tripod Height 67-119cm
Shipping Weight 9 Kgs
233x Magnification
Aluminized and overcoated mirrors
Smooth rack-and-pinion 1.25" focuser
Perfect for all-around astronomical observing
18% more light gathering power than 70mm. Enough to allow simple study of star clusters and nebulas
http://www.galileote...s.php?pro_id=89
Next one is
Celestron Powerseeker 70AZ.
http://www.celestron...eeker-70az.html

Both have same price range in INDIA.
But weight for the first one is 9KG and for celeston is only 2.9Kg.

Can you guys please suggest which telescope I should buy.

#2 Maverick199

Maverick199

Voyager 1

• Loc: India

Posted 19 November 2013 - 02:56 AM

Hi Arpita and welcome to CN! That's a nice gesture indeed. In my opinion neither of those scopes would help much in bringing out details in Planets or nebulae. Perhaps if you state your budget then we could help you make a better choice?

#3 Arpita

Arpita

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 19 November 2013 - 04:57 AM

My budget is 100 USD.
I am also thinking for Celestron AstroMaster 70AZ Telescope.
Kindly suggest.
web page

#4 Maverick199

Maverick199

Voyager 1

Posted 19 November 2013 - 08:48 AM