Jump to content


Photo

Observing shed size

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 brokenwave

brokenwave

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 10 May 2011
  • Loc: Scottsdale, AZ

Posted 19 November 2013 - 10:42 AM

Looking to build a observing shed 8x10 with a RO roof.
It will be housing an AP1200 mount with a 130-140mm refractor and AP cameras. Is this really large enough?
Anyones experiences are appreciated.

#2 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86521
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 19 November 2013 - 11:15 AM

Best thing to do is make a circle of the scope in the "parked" position. You want enough room to be able to walk around it, with enough room between it & the walls. Observatories always seem so large until we get all our equipment in them. :grin:

#3 Mittag56

Mittag56

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 236
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2009
  • Loc: West Amboy, N.Y.

Posted 19 November 2013 - 11:31 AM

Heed this advice....LOL..mine got smaller overnite and now i still don,t have nuff room...just to much stuff... :roflmao:

#4 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 19 November 2013 - 11:49 AM

Great advice :) I have a 10x10 and with my 12" and the required counterweights it gives me about 2' all the way around it. If I had a big refractor, I'd probably want a little more room on it.



#5 stmguy

stmguy

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2012
  • Loc: Western NH

Posted 19 November 2013 - 12:29 PM

I went with a 10x10 with a 2 ft bump out and I wish it were bigger at times

Norm

#6 frolinmod

frolinmod

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1895
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 19 November 2013 - 12:51 PM

Go 10 X 12 if you can.

#7 dawziecat

dawziecat

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2425
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rural Nova Scotia

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:02 PM

Size matters! :)

I went 10 X 14. Of course I got stronger arms to do the building too. When I was going to do it myself, I was going to settle for smaller.

#8 tim57064

tim57064

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:25 PM

I second the 10'x12' size as that is what I did,then wishing I had gone even bigger to a 12'X14'.The cost does go up exponentially though. That is what kept me from going even bigger.

#9 JJK

JJK

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2036
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2008

Posted 19 November 2013 - 09:51 PM

I built an 8'x8' RoR observatory, which houses up to an AP 175 mm f/8 plus a CCD camera on an AP1600GTO mount, and has a desk-height shelf for a laptop computer and mouse. I can get around the system, and have had two folks in the shed at a time, but it's a bit tight.

An 8'x10' structure would work, but if you have the space, a 10'x10' (or larger) shed would feel more comfortable.

#10 brokenwave

brokenwave

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 10 May 2011
  • Loc: Scottsdale, AZ

Posted 20 November 2013 - 06:43 PM

Thanks, it look's like a 10'x12' or larger is required,
The area I want to place it might only support a 9'x12'-14' shed. Yes, you always need that extra foot or so.

#11 thesungazer

thesungazer

    Sungazer

  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Joined: 06 May 2003
  • Loc: Maryland

Posted 20 November 2013 - 07:27 PM

Go as big as you can.

Greg

#12 Orion58

Orion58

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 914
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Southern Wisconsin

Posted 27 November 2013 - 03:14 PM

Go as big as you can.


I agree - I have yet to hear anyone complain that their observatory is too big... :grin:

#13 LoveChina61

LoveChina61

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2009

Posted 27 November 2013 - 09:46 PM

Go as big as your local city building codes allow you to do without first having to procure government approval before you can start building.

For example, in Arizona we can freely build up to a 10'x12' observatory. Anything larger than that involves first going through a lot of local government approval procedures before you can legally build.

#14 Starhawk

Starhawk

    Space Ranger

  • *****
  • Posts: 5594
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 28 November 2013 - 10:31 AM

It depends on where in Arizona you are. If you have 10 acres or more in Cochise county, they don't expect to be bothering with you or the out buildings on your ranch.

And I just did a look- over near Cochise stronghold, there are 40 acres for $25k, available at $625/acre. It's suppsed to have a ridge on it- I should look...

-Rich

#15 theflop

theflop

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 07 December 2013 - 11:48 PM

I went 10 x 16 with my observatory. That allowed for a warm room. So now I can use the telescope when it is -10 F and still stay cozy in the warm room! I do not understand building an observatory that is so small that the operator is still out in the freezing cold. I increased my observing time 25 fold!

Attached Files



#16 theflop

theflop

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 07 December 2013 - 11:52 PM

Another photo!

Attached Files



#17 theflop

theflop

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 07 December 2013 - 11:54 PM

And a final photo. The observatory still needs some finish work but it is fully functional!

The project: http://www.flickr.co...s/14391998@N08/

Attached Files



#18 rimcrazy

rimcrazy

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 03 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Overgaard, AZ

Posted 08 December 2013 - 08:11 AM

As mentioned by others check what your specific county requires. My observatory is in Navajo county AZ. I can build up to 144 sq ft and I do not require a permit. My observatory is 10.5' x 13.5' = 141.75sqft. I have a dome and offset the center of the pier to one side to allow for a desk area. Here is what the finished building looks like:

Posted Image
Overgaard Outreach Observatory

If you can size it such that you don't need a permit it will save a lot of hassle as what you are building is unique and my own personal experience is that many of the inspectors in rural area's are not the sharpest tacks in the box. It just saves a lot of hassles.

#19 Starhawk

Starhawk

    Space Ranger

  • *****
  • Posts: 5594
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 11 December 2013 - 09:58 AM

That's a really sharp looking dome, rimcrazy.

-Rich

#20 rimcrazy

rimcrazy

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 03 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Overgaard, AZ

Posted 12 December 2013 - 09:57 AM

That's a really sharp looking dome, rimcrazy.

-Rich


Thanks. I all came together pretty good. The dome is a 10' HomeDome from TI. I'd like to say I could recommend them but I cannot. I got it all to work but I'm fairly mechanically inclined and my son has his own metal fabrication business so together we were able to overcome the multiple shortcomings. I'm not into publicly slamming people or companies but if one is interested I can fill in the details in a PM. From a shear mechanical design, the tooth and gear assembly that Exploradome looks like it should work better than the cables/pulley's used by TI. Unfortunately, in the middle ground of dome's there is no clear winner. If I could have afforded it I would have like to get something like an Ash Dome but those were out of my price range. Bottom line, if you want a TI HomeDome you'd best be handy.

#21 thesungazer

thesungazer

    Sungazer

  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Joined: 06 May 2003
  • Loc: Maryland

Posted 12 December 2013 - 01:29 PM

Boy that looks dandy! I love the natural wood interior.
Some, like myself, just don't have the space for a warm room. Still, nothing beats having your own observatory!

Greg

#22 John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald

    In Focus

  • *****
  • Posts: 2882
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2004
  • Loc: AR ..on the minus side of +36 deg

Posted 12 December 2013 - 08:47 PM

Mine is 16 x 16 feet. I wish it was 30 x 40, so it could double as a shop.

#23 theflop

theflop

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 13 December 2013 - 06:42 PM

I couldv'e kept the cost way down by not using a pine interior or metal roof or insulation in every single wall! There are ways to cut costs!






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics