10 Micron GM2000HPS

• Please log in to reply
203 replies to this topic

#1 dgmoses

dgmoses

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 13 December 2013 - 03:28 PM

I'm considering purchasing this mount. At $20K a pop I'd like to know more about it than the manufacturer's fluff. Does anyone know anything about this mount? Do you own one? How do you like it?

Don

#2 bseltzer

bseltzer

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: East S.F.Bay, CA

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:41 PM

I've no experience at all with any part of the 10 Micron line nor do I know any one that has. But it occurs to me that if you've got a $20K budget, I can think of at least 4 more 'mainstream' vendors that produce top flight mounts at or near that price point. Have you looked the offerings from say, ASA, Astro-Physics, Software Bisque, or Parallax? If so, I'd be interested to know why you found them wanting.

#3 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

Transmographied

• Administrators
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:53 PM

From what I've read, they are good mounts, but not many in the states. For your budget and depending on what you're going to be mounting, there's a LOT of mounts out there that have long track records. I would add Mathis Instruments to the mix as well.

David

#4 SPACEMAN

SPACEMAN

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: grömme,Belgium

Posted 14 December 2013 - 09:45 AM

I have this mount now for 2 years and i LOVE IT!!! It suchs an advanced mount! Really good build quality. I use it for comet observing. the software is really advanced, and the speed / noise is really nice! Sounds very good. Finishing touch is great.
You can make a pointing model up to 100 stars without the use of a computer!!!

#5 Per Frejvall

Per Frejvall

Ranger 4

• Loc: Saltsjöbaden, Sweden

Posted 14 December 2013 - 10:52 AM