Seek expert advice

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Mahabrahma

Mahabrahma

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 16 December 2013 - 09:20 AM

Hi! I am new to cloudy nights. Recently I purchased a bino (Nikon sporter ex 10x50). Is it not good to mention brand name?...I don't know. my intention was to buy a porro bino. But this was the only 10x50 bino they had. As the shop was a busy place, only after coming home I could study it. I am not happy with its image quality. Residual chromatic aberration is the biggest problem. CA is bit high. It has other types of optical weaknesses too. I have a Russian made (Tento 10x50) bino. Its CA is negligible. I have another bino (Konus 12x25) and it is almost free from CA.
I can't buy all the binos on this earth one by one and throw away if not good. Therefore I need expert advice about a porro type bino (10x50, 12x50 or 10x42)with minimum optical weaknesses. Price between 500$ to 1000$. What about Nikon premier SE 12x50? Are there fake products for Nikon? Please help.....

#2 SMark

SMark

Apollo

• Loc: Atlanta, GA USA

Posted 16 December 2013 - 09:46 AM

Mentioning brand names is fine.

It sounds to me like you may have just bought a bad sample. The Nikon Sporter EX seems to get very good reviews across the internet. I think you may want to consider taking it back and exchanging it for a new one. If possible, you should always try out the binocular in the store before purchasing it.

#3 Ryuno

Ryuno

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Tokyo

Posted 16 December 2013 - 10:21 AM

What about Nikon premier SE 12x50?

I have the Nikon 12x50SE. Very bright and sharp. No noticeable CA,at least for my eyes. However, since I bought a pair of Canon 15x50IS ( used for 800$), they hardly get any use anymore. The image stabilisation makes a huge difference. I can se much more and so comfortably.

Heinz

#4 choran

choran

Surveyor 1

Posted 16 December 2013 - 02:45 PM