Photo

Tracking...Guiding...terminology help please. :)

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Intheswamp

Intheswamp

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: South Alabama

Posted 17 December 2013 - 10:46 AM

I was going through a thread pertaining to imaging with an iOptron Skytracker when an experienced user remarked that being "unguided" that the max exposure would be about 60sec for M31 the Amdromeda Galaxy. I thought the Skytracker *was* guiding the camera. I understand that tracking planetary objects is a bit different but are guiding and tracking two different things when referring to following stars and DSOs...???

I'm really a rank newbie here and trying to understand it all. I've got some basic, humble equipment and I'm just getting started tinkering with doing some night sky photography. I'm trying to build a barndoor tracker for my DSLR so the computer guidance and "GoTo" systems are waaayyy beyond me. Most sites state that for a fairly well built curved rod barndoor tracker that 10+ minute exposures are possible (even stating 1-hour exposures but I'm just hoping for those 30-60 second shots :)). So...guidance and tracking, what's the difference between them when referring to stars and DSO's?

Sorry for rattling on, just trying to figure some things out...thanks for any feedback!

Ed

#2 jbalsam

jbalsam

Viking 1

• Loc: Spencerville, MD

Posted 17 December 2013 - 10:51 AM

"tracking" refers to the mount's RA axis being motorized to turn at the same angular velocity as the earth
"guiding" refers to a feedback mechanism that measures the actual position of a star and corrects for any errors in the rate of the RA axis movement (this is generally done by using a camera separate from the main imaging camera to take short exposures of the sky so star positions can be measured).