Jump to content


Photo

Entering Lat & Long...

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Photo4x4

Photo4x4

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Scottish Highlands

Posted 19 December 2013 - 01:53 PM

Hello all

When entering my Lat & Long I have the figure W 003 53.756 (taken from GPS in my truck).

The hc allows a 7 figure entry for this. So I enter 0035375 and then I press enter. However the hc display changes the last two figures to 59! So I get 0035359. I have tried this a few times but everytime I press 'enter' the last two figures change.

I don't know how much difference to the alignment this will make. I managed to do an alignment on my second attempt but it was very slightly out, not far but the object (Jupiter) was just outside the fov. Easy to correct with Jupiter but could be a problem with a faint object.

Am I doing something wrong or have I missed something here?

BTW when I enter Lat the last two figures always change to 59 when I press enter.

Any hints or advice much appreciated, thanks.

Keith Hart

#2 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4577
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 19 December 2013 - 02:23 PM

You are entering the info in a decimal format. The mount uses a degree, minutes, seconds format.

You can use this to convert the data for entry.

Stan

http://transition.fc...SS-decimal.html

#3 Photo4x4

Photo4x4

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Scottish Highlands

Posted 19 December 2013 - 03:56 PM

Sorry, my mistake I've not explained properly. I was writing the post with just the numbers I was entering. I'm actually entering 003 53.756 and 57 45.930. Well trying to any way.

The hc asks for the degrees and seconds and I enter the figures in that format.

#4 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4577
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 19 December 2013 - 05:40 PM

You can not enter 756 seconds...there are only 60 seconds in a minute. multiply 60 by the decimal number to get seconds.

Try 003 53 45 and 57 45 55

Stan

#5 Photo4x4

Photo4x4

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Scottish Highlands

Posted 20 December 2013 - 02:40 AM

Brilliant Stan. Thanks, I've just entered that and it worked. If its clear tonight I'll try another Sky Align.

Keith Hart

#6 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4577
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 20 December 2013 - 03:04 AM

Keith,

Cuidado, I know where you live now. lol

If you have trouble with SkyAlign, try using Auto 2 Star or 2 Star. People seem to have luck with them.

Fair Skies,

Stan






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics