Celestron 8SE Star Align problem

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Bluesdog

Bluesdog

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 23 December 2013 - 11:07 AM

finally got to use my new 8se last night but was unable to get it to star align. I had 5 attempts using stars only and combinations of stars and Jupiter but without success. I'm going to check my location data and I'll have another attempt when clear skies allow but if anyone has any tips I'd be grateful. Should have said that I'm a novice and I'm on a steep learning curve

#2 Tel

Tel

Cosmos

• Loc: Wallingford England

Posted 23 December 2013 - 12:08 PM

Hi Bluesdog,

Welcome heartily to CN and to this forum ! :bow::bow:

Assuming that you are entering the necessary prime data, (i.e. time, date and location), correctly and that you have an adequate power supply, (either a Power Tank, mains AC/DC transformer or at least a stack of fresh AA batteries), then perhaps the 19th posting on the following link, (by Hamdul), will help you to make a successful alignment.

http://www.cloudynig...5417848/page...

Best regards, all success and Merry Xmas,
Tel

P.S. Please feel free to refer back to us if you have any problems

#3 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

Voyager 1

• Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 23 December 2013 - 01:00 PM

Hi Bluesdog:

Can you describe what happens? When you say "without success", what are the symptoms?

-Dan

#4 Bluesdog

Bluesdog

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 23 December 2013 - 02:52 PM

Thanks for the responses. I have read the post suggested by Tel and I'll do some work on it tomorrow. The message I was getting is "Align Failed". Since my original post I have had a review of the set up data and I find that the longitude is 118 degrees when I had previously set it to 000,59,5.2 degrees so I'm a bit puzzled as I double checked it when I set it. 118 degrees is in China. I've reset the longitude and I'll check it tomorrow and see if it's reverted.