Photo

Samsung Galxy Note 3 and Telescope control?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 junomike

junomike

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Ontario

Posted 03 January 2014 - 10:07 AM

This is my first time post in this forum. Recently I've acquired a Starry Night BlueStar BlueTooth adapter seen here and was wondering It I could use It to control my Mounts using Sky Safari as shown in this video.

I've read that most Android devices don't support the necessary "ad-hoc" mode and need to be rooted, however this also voids the warrenty which I'd rather not do seeing as my Galaxy Note 3 is only a week old.

Is this possible? If not what other options do I have?

Mike

#2 btschumy

btschumy

Vendor - Simulation Curriculum

• Vendors
  • Loc: Longmont, CO, USA

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:57 PM

Bluestar doesn't use Ad Hoc networking, it uses Bluetooth.

Yes, SkySafari can control the scope through the Bluestar, however you will need the serial cable that came with it for the specific mount. The pinout configuration of the Bluestar is unusual and a "normal" serial cable will not work.

If you need to make a cable, you will need to locate Bluestar's pinouts. I don't know them offhand.

Your other options are to by a standard bluetooth to serial adapter and then you can use a standard serial control cable for whatever mount you have.

#3 junomike

junomike

Surveyor 1

Posted 03 January 2014 - 04:15 PM

Thanks for the Info Bill. I realized shortly after posting (and doing some more searching) that the Bluetooth was independent from the "Ad-Hoc".

Ok, I already have a Serial - RJ11 Cable and was going to get this for the Celestron HC end.

Will this work? (If not I won't bother).

Mike

#4 btschumy

btschumy

Vendor - Simulation Curriculum

• Vendors
  • Loc: Longmont, CO, USA

Posted 03 January 2014 - 07:04 PM