• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 rustyprice

rustyprice

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Posted 13 January 2014 - 12:07 AM

Noob here, I've really been inspired by this thread and worked this weekend to decrease my light pollution footprint. Changed out the glaring yellow lights, like you can still see on the neighbor's shed, for a downward facing light on a sensor that dims when there is no movement. Still plenty of light so that the pups can see to pee and so I can find my keys and navigate the yard no problem. There's also some type of relaxing element to it all, where as before the backyard just kinda gave me a headache at night from squinting. Thanks folks.

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 nytecam

nytecam

Voyager 1

• Loc: London UK

Posted 14 January 2014 - 03:25 AM

What's a dog pee light? Only humans NEED light ! :-)

#3 csa/montana

csa/montana

Den Mama

• Loc: montana

Posted 14 January 2014 - 10:54 AM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights! Glad you're here! The changing of the light definitely makes a huge difference. It's directing the light where needed, rather than spreading out, and the sensor is a big plus! Well done! Now, if you can just convince your neighbor to follow your example! :)

#4 rustyprice

rustyprice

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 14 January 2014 - 04:48 PM

I have reasonable neighbors, they are professors who seem to do the "live green" thing, they walk or ride bikes just about everywhere, recycle, etc. I think I will model this a bit and then approach them and even provide them with a light. I suspect they will take kindly. Like I wrote once before somewhere else, I think there are a lot of smart young environmental types out there who simply don't think about light pollution as we sort away our plastics and carpool to work...if you follow the logic. Not sure why this element of pollution is so often not instilled.

It's amazing just what darkening my small yard has done to my night time visibility.