Jump to content


Photo

Help !! Need Mount advise for AR152

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 15 January 2014 - 09:30 PM

I'm still looking over mount choices for this long heavy beast, one dealer likes a mount , one hates it.. I'll tell you what I'm looking for, goto mount with the ability to extent the height, so I wont hit the tripod at zenith. I was considering the iEQ45-AZ & Atlas Pro AZ/EQ. I like the AZ option, does someone have a solution.

Thanks ! :( :(

#2 herrindude

herrindude

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 304
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Fairhope Alabama

Posted 16 January 2014 - 06:58 PM

I use a cge with my c11 and ar152 and it does just fine withe the weight and length. I have to extend the legs about 6 inches and it will in no way hit anything. here is a pic or two.

Attached Files



#3 herrindude

herrindude

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 304
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Fairhope Alabama

Posted 16 January 2014 - 06:59 PM

and another

Attached Files



#4 psandelle

psandelle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 653
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 16 January 2014 - 07:01 PM

I had an AR152 on an iEQ30 to test the mount when it first came out. It did fine. The 45AZ/EQ'd be great. I'd get the pier, though (that's what I had). No problems then.

Paul

#5 mayidunk

mayidunk

    Don't Ask...

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 3828
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2010
  • Loc: Betwixt & Between...

Posted 16 January 2014 - 07:35 PM

I mount my AR152 on a Vixen Sphinx SXW, using a Vixen half-pillar, all on a Vixen HAL130 tripod. It is a spendy set up, however I was able to get a good deal on the mount, and I found the half-pillar used for a good price.

#6 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:25 PM

If your using the Ar152 with a cge and your don't have to add a extension and it does not hit the mount at zenith, then I guess my best bet for now and the future is the CGEM. The CGEM has more load capacity and that fits fine into my plans..

Thanks !! And great setup !!! :) :bow:

#7 AntarcticDave

AntarcticDave

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 288
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 22 January 2014 - 03:55 PM

I have my Antares 1529 (predecessor to the AR152) on a CGEM, and have had no issues.

Attached Files



#8 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 22 January 2014 - 05:43 PM

I'm back and forth on the CGEM or the Orion Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G
hard decision.. Both mounts look excellent.

#9 epdreher

epdreher

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Republic of Texas

Posted 22 January 2014 - 06:19 PM

I would heartily recommend the Atlas AZ/EQ-G.

#10 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 22 January 2014 - 06:39 PM

May I ask you why you would recommend it. Epdreher. I see that you own both the mount and the scope, tell me did you have to add a pier extension to clear the tripod at zenith
:) :bow:

#11 epdreher

epdreher

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Republic of Texas

Posted 22 January 2014 - 07:09 PM

Interestingly enough, I've not had the chance to put the 152 on my Atlas yet. The scope is my wife's and she uses it visually on an Advanced VX. It's pushing that mount's limits, but does fine. It doesn't need an extension on the VX, but I can't say for certain that would be the case for the Atlas.

In the past few months, I've owned two CGEMs. The first was a rat's nest of troubles, and the second was only marginally better. I wouldn't be the best person to speak about the virtues of a CGEM.

I traded the second one in on my Atlas, and am still shaking-out the software, etc., as well as getting ready to record a PEC curve to load via EQMOD.

The problem is the weather patterns we seem to be stuck in along the SoCal coastal area. Clear all day long, then the high, thin clouds start rolling in for the evening. It's maddening.

#12 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 23 January 2014 - 12:08 AM

Epdreher , I feel your pain. If its not snowing in NJ its so cold I cant feel my nose.

#13 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 24 January 2014 - 04:21 PM

OK, the bullet has been bit just ordered the Orion Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G and the pier extension , theirs a wait, so I have a long time to read the manual and get confused.

#14 epdreher

epdreher

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Republic of Texas

Posted 24 January 2014 - 04:56 PM

Congrats, Mark. I think you made the right choice for the price range. I'm very happy with the testing results on mine regarding period error....as I look outside at the completely grey sky. :(

#15 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 24 January 2014 - 08:26 PM

Eric, have you used the mount in AZ mode yet?

#16 epdreher

epdreher

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Republic of Texas

Posted 24 January 2014 - 08:50 PM

I haven't, Mark, and honestly I probably never will. I bought the mount due to EQ features and the belt drive system.

#17 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 24 January 2014 - 09:25 PM

Well, I like the AZ option and the fact the mount can take LM & Vx plates seamlessly, I'm not into AP yet, but it’s on the list. Just use my scopes for visual for the moment. The LX200 which is my primary scope, sort of makes it to easy, I want to learn more about EQ setup and not always depend on the computer... Did you think it’s any benefit getting the GPS unit for the Atlas?

#18 epdreher

epdreher

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Republic of Texas

Posted 24 January 2014 - 09:50 PM

I think the AZ option is a great feature for those who need it, but personally I don't. If the mount were optioned with and without, I would have chosen the latter, but the flexibility is not to be denied.

As for GPS, I just use an iPhone app for the location to enter into EQMOD. If I'm in an area with no cell service, I have an old Garmin handheld unit that'll do. I don't know how much it costs, but that's something you'll need to decide.

You'd benefit from reading both manuals a couple of times before setting up; one for the hand controller, the other for the mount. Become familiar with the terminology, etc. Even then, it'll take a couple of set-ups before you feel comfortable. We've all been there. :)

#19 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 24 January 2014 - 09:55 PM

Did you consider changing the dovetail on the 152 to losmandy, looks like a worth while upgrade. Sorry for peppering you with questions...






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics