what do you suggest?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ianfromoz

ianfromoz

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 18 January 2014 - 05:56 AM

So I now ( finally ) have a telescope, the Celestron 6SE.

All bing well I will take it out for its first viewing ( after I do the first Skyalign procedure, hope I go o.k on that? ) next Friday, thats when there will be a half moon, or there abouts.

Now I have never used a telescope before and would love to get some close views as well as full if the weather permits, so what size EP's do you suggest that I use for moon observation ( Nexstar 6SE f10 )

Your thoughts please.

ian

N.B
Also is there such a thing as a best time of night to view the moon?
I will need to get to the site earlier to align the scope for the very first time, not sure how long that will take...........knowing me a long time.

#2 brianb11213

brianb11213

Cosmos

• Loc: 55.215N 6.554W

Posted 18 January 2014 - 09:08 AM

1. With Plossl eyepieces (around 50 deg FOV) you will need around x75 to show the full lunar disc with a bit of sky around it. That comes to 20mm with your 1500mm focal length scope.

For higher powers, 12.5mm, 9mm or just possibly 7mm if you have the scope very well collimated & the moon is high in the sky with steady air.

2. To view the moon:

Waxing crescent to first quarter: evening twilight

Waxing gibbous: between sunset & midnight

Full: late evening to early morning

Waning gibbous: between midnight & dawn

Last quarter & waning crescent: during morning twilight

You do not need the sky to be completely dark to view the moon, in fact twilight can be helpful in reducing glare.

Next Friday the moon will be last quarter & you will have to get up before dawn to see it well. I don't know where you are located but at my location the moon rises as 1:26 am, transits the meridian at 6:22 am & sets at 11:10 am. With local sunrise at 8:29 am I would consider the "observing window" to be approx. 5 am to 8 am.