Jump to content


Photo

iOptron ZEQ25 case packaging

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 nwcs

nwcs

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Tennessee

Posted 21 January 2014 - 09:18 AM

Can anyone post a picture of how they package their mount in the iOptron case? I got the case yesterday (and the mount 2 months ago). I'm not exactly sure how to contort the mount to fit into the foam padding. Would really help to see a picture of how it should look. Thanks!

#2 Chuckwagon

Chuckwagon

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Orem, Utah, USA

Posted 21 January 2014 - 10:56 PM

I don't really know how to attach an image, so if this fails I apologize. (Looks like it worked, yay!) :) Here is an image of my mount in it's case. I adjusted the DEC to a low setting so it wasn't as snug a fit, but it will go in with it in other orientations. Note that you can rotate the foam to any orientation you prefer, this is just how I stuck it in on short notice. :) Hope this helps.

Charles

Attached Files



#3 ScottAz

ScottAz

    Fleet Navigator

  • *****
  • Posts: 1330
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2005
  • Loc: Kenosha, Wisconsin

Posted 22 January 2014 - 06:51 AM

Nicely done, Charles! :D Your picture really tells me what to expect when I order my ZEQ25. Thanks!

#4 Chuckwagon

Chuckwagon

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Orem, Utah, USA

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:27 AM

Happy to help. The case is apparently used for more than one model of mount, so I guess they just alter the foam part of the packaging for the mount intended. It isn't quite as good a fit as I'd like. I think they could have shaped the foam a bit more precisely. The base of the mount doesn't really have enough room, and depending on the DEC setting it can be a tight fit. But it's nothing major and you can make minor modifications with a little careful knife use, so I'm happy enough with it. It's not a particularly expensive case, though not exactly cheap either, so I guess it's about what I'd expect. :)

It's handy to have, and does offer some protection, but don't expect it to perform miracles. My original case was damaged in shipping when the shipping box was apparently dropped. The drop was enough that the mount had sufficient momentum to punch right through the metal case siding, splitting a 4 inch tear in it. The tear was right where the base squeezes in, where the foam was most compressed, so bad luck on how the box fell I suppose. The mount was ok, but the case needed replacing. So I'd prefer about an inch more clearance around the mount inside the case, with some extra foam, and a more precise fit. But it'll do for most situations.

Cheers,
Charles

#5 nwcs

nwcs

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Tennessee

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:29 PM

Thanks! That's kind of how I put mine in. I originally was trying to keep my latitude set but it didn't look like I could. Wasn't sure if I had to do more than just change that. I wish there was room for the counterweight, though...

#6 Chuckwagon

Chuckwagon

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Orem, Utah, USA

Posted 23 January 2014 - 02:06 AM

The CW will fit, it can go into the rectangular hole. (upper left in the picture) In fact, I believe the entire mount, CW, CW shaft, cables, controller, and tripod spreader will fit in the case, because that's how it all was shipped to me. :) I don't remember off hand how all the bits were packed, but I only got 2 boxes, one with the tripod minus the spreader, and one box with the case, with all the parts inside the case. The CW shaft and tripod spreader go into the top foam piece between the foam and the case lid, there are cut-outs for them there. And somehow everything squeezes in. But I didn't like having the controller so constrained, so until I take the time to re-cut the foam, or replace it with better fitted foam, I'm just carrying my mount, CW, CW shaft, and spreader in the case. The other bits I put in another padded carrying case with more room. :)

Clear skies,
Charles

#7 nwcs

nwcs

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Tennessee

Posted 23 January 2014 - 01:08 PM

Hmm, I tried putting in the CW and it didn't fit really. When I got mine (I got the case later) the CW was packed in a separate box. I also have a powerweight so I've got to carry that anyway. Unfortunately my telescope weight has grown to need the included weight but can't use the powerweight on its own. So it's two weights for me...

#8 Chuckwagon

Chuckwagon

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Orem, Utah, USA

Posted 23 January 2014 - 01:19 PM

Yeah, it's a tight fit. :) Look at the Knowing ZEQ25GT 2" for AP thread for pictures of how it all comes packed. They do squeeze it all in. But if you're going to be needing the two CWs, I'd just get another case of some kind to carry them in and free up the space in your mount case.

:)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics