Jump to content


Photo

Need help with encoders on G-11

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 tom77

tom77

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:29 AM

Hello-

Thanks in advance for any help on this topic.

I purchased a Sky Commander XP4 DSC to use with my Losmandy G-11. The RA and DEC never registered any movement, and it was recommended that I use the cable from Losmandy's DSC kit. I'm waiting to see if anyone has one for sale, but I wanted to see if anyone understands the wiring. Any takers?

The cable supplied with my DSC has 4 color wires (black-yellow-green-red). The S1-512 encoders on my G-11 have 6 pins. What color wires go to what pins in the encoders? I attached a rough sketch.

I'm thinking of replacing the jack on the cable that came with the DSC if I could just get the right color wire-to-pin order. Thanks for the help.

Attached Files



#2 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33810
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:37 AM

Here's the easy way - $5 ea. from Sky Engineering.

http://www.skyeng.co...ls/P1010106.htm

#3 hottr6

hottr6

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2415
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2009
  • Loc: 7,500', Magdalena Mtns, NM

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:05 AM

I purchased a Sky Commander XP4 DSC to use with my Losmandy G-11. The RA and DEC never registered any movement, and it was recommended that I use the cable from Losmandy's DSC kit.

Cannot help directly, but may be able to add to the information pool.

I use both Losmandy and JMI encoders with JMI's NGC computer. The JMI and Losmandy encoder cables are identical and can be interchanged. Both cables also plug into a NEXUS when working with SkySafari.

I know nothing about the Sky Commander; I am surprised that it uses a wiring protocol different to Losmandy and JMI. Are you sure your encoders work?

#4 Geo.

Geo.

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2866
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:00 AM

A 6 pin jack is the RS232 port the encoders usually need an 8 pin (RJ-45) jack.

Attached Files



#5 Ed Wiley

Ed Wiley

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1016
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Kansas, USA

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:07 PM

What kind of encoders do you have on the G11? Mine are Losmandy and I have never had any problem using them with the Sky Commander on either my G11 or my G8.

Ed

#6 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 23 January 2014 - 12:19 AM

+1. You can actually email the Sky Engineering guy and he'll tell you... I was asking the same question a few months ago with my Mi-250 and he's totally willing to help you out.

Chris

#7 tom77

tom77

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

Posted 23 January 2014 - 06:37 PM

Thanks for the help everyone. I was hoping to rewire/replace the jack that came with my DSC, but this is a bit more complicated than I had imagined. I understand the sequence of the 4 wires (thank you George), but my encoders have 8 contact points (i.e., 8 possible destinations for 4 cables). Should I start in the center ? Left? Right? I will contact the manufacturer and post the solution when I find it. Thanks

#8 tom77

tom77

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2013

Posted 23 January 2014 - 06:39 PM

Correction: my encoders have 6 contact points, not 8.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics