Jump to content


Photo

BackyardNIKON, ask me anything!

  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#51 karambit27

karambit27

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2013
  • Loc: Rochester, NY

Posted 25 February 2014 - 01:47 PM

Only the latest models do sadly.

The D5200, D5300, D7100, D800 does support bulb over USB AFAIK. I'm assuming all cameras built after these models will.

The D5100 and D7000 do not. However, they have better sensors for astronomy. So it all depends what your goal is.

I believe none the D## (2 digits) model support bulb over USB.

Hope this helps,

Guylain


Can you elaborate on why the sensors in the 5100/7000 are better?

#52 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 25 February 2014 - 02:16 PM

Only the latest models do sadly.

The D5200, D5300, D7100, D800 does support bulb over USB AFAIK. I'm assuming all cameras built after these models will.

The D5100 and D7000 do not. However, they have better sensors for astronomy. So it all depends what your goal is.

I believe none the D## (2 digits) model support bulb over USB.

Hope this helps,

Guylain


Can you elaborate on why the sensors in the 5100/7000 are better?


Because they both have the same SONY sensor.

The D5200 and D7100 have Toshiba sensors and they are not nearly as good as the SONY sensors.

Hope this helps,

Guylain

#53 weedbreeder

weedbreeder

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2011

Posted 26 February 2014 - 02:42 AM

By any chance will older nikon cameras be supported? I have a perfectly working D50 (less than 3000 actuation)that is doing astro duty via Nikon Camera Control. for bulb I have to use an IR remote. click once, the shutter opens, click again, the shutter close.

#54 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 26 February 2014 - 06:48 AM

By any chance will older nikon cameras be supported? I have a perfectly working D50 (less than 3000 actuation)that is doing astro duty via Nikon Camera Control. for bulb I have to use an IR remote. click once, the shutter opens, click again, the shutter close.


Read post #6353999 earlier in the thread for a list of all cameras with a supported SDK.

The D50 does NOT have a Nikon SDK and therefore will not be supported sadly :(

Regards,

#55 jerryyyyy

jerryyyyy

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1261
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Stanford, California

Posted 26 February 2014 - 12:17 PM

Hello,

Happy to find this thread and the hope? for new software for my D800.

Is it true that the D800 will support Bulb release for durations > 30s. This has been a limitation in the past. Is this documented anywhere?

Thanks :bow: :bow: :bow:

#56 karambit27

karambit27

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2013
  • Loc: Rochester, NY

Posted 26 February 2014 - 12:58 PM

Hello,

Happy to find this thread and the hope? for new software for my D800.

Is it true that the D800 will support Bulb release for durations > 30s. This has been a limitation in the past. Is this documented anywhere?

Thanks :bow: :bow: :bow:



He already answered this on the 1st page of this thread with a list of supported cameras. The D800 supports Bulb over USB

#57 jerryyyyy

jerryyyyy

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1261
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Stanford, California

Posted 26 February 2014 - 01:53 PM

Hello,

Happy to find this thread and the hope? for new software for my D800.

Is it true that the D800 will support Bulb release for durations > 30s. This has been a limitation in the past. Is this documented anywhere?

Thanks :bow: :bow: :bow:



He already answered this on the 1st page of this thread with a list of supported cameras. The D800 supports Bulb over USB


Well, if this is true the manufactures of Maxim DL are clueless (I would not be shocked). They say it cannot do the over 30s bulb trick with my D800. That this is a firmware issue. Has anyone brought this to the attention of Cyanogen? The basically say it is impossible. Their manual.

http://cyanogen.com/.../Nikon_DSLR.htm

#58 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 26 February 2014 - 04:35 PM

I do not have a D800 myself but I remember Brent Oliver (Hypercam mods) saying that the D800 was capable of BULB over usb. If this is not the case we'll know soon enough when BackyardNIKON is release for beta testing... fingers crossed for late March still.

Both Chris and I have been traveling to Germany for the past 3 weeks so not much has been done in BackyardNIKON in February :(

Regards,

Guylain

#59 jerryyyyy

jerryyyyy

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1261
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Stanford, California

Posted 26 February 2014 - 05:39 PM

Am happy to beta test as needed. I own Backyard EOS, I think I paid for it, from my Canon days. I went over to the dark side when the D800 came out. I do a lot of fishing photography and the Mark III seemed like zero increment of improvement. I have started shooting the D800 with a Takahashi 180ED and my SBIG CCD went south. So I used the D800 and was very happy with the results.

Turns out the problem I had with the SBIG camera was due to dew here in San Francisco but the D800 is weather hardened. Also has the big sensor. I get 2 arcsec images in 7000x5000 images.

Anyway, good luck with the project and if you need beta testing, I am around on CNs.

#60 WillCarney

WillCarney

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Bloomington, ILL

Posted 03 March 2014 - 02:28 AM

I currently have a D40x and use Camera Control Pro2 to control it over USB up to 30sec. My system is a Win8 64bit. It will be interesting to see if I can test my D40x with your new program. William

#61 raptor1956

raptor1956

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013
  • Loc: SLC, Utah, USA

Posted 25 March 2014 - 06:55 AM

Pinging for update ... are we getting close to initial release?

No pressure Guy ;)

Brian

#62 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 25 March 2014 - 08:12 AM

Pinging for update ... are we getting close to initial release?

No pressure Guy ;)

Brian


Yes,

Got liveview working and connected to the UI last weekend. Also got capture plan to work. Both JPG and NEF raw are downloading and renaming properly but I still have issues reading the actual NEF file to reconstruct the image if you only take raw file.

After that I have about 1 dozen of minor UI tweaks and then initial beta release.

Guylain

#63 raptor1956

raptor1956

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013
  • Loc: SLC, Utah, USA

Posted 25 March 2014 - 06:03 PM

Great news Guy...


Brian

#64 WarGawd

WarGawd

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2013

Posted 27 March 2014 - 02:27 PM

I have both a D5100 and D7000 that I use for astrophotography. I do have a Hahnel Giga T Pro intervalometer that would control the cameras for longer Bulb Mode exposures, without needing a laptop in the field. But those longer exposures pretty much require autoguiding with my mount (a CGEM DX that I just finished hypertuning) and so I'll need the laptop anyway. And so I may as well explore the extra functionality offered by software like BYN. I have experimented with Control My Nikon, but don't currently have the additional DSUSB cable, which I expect to get soon. In any event, I am certainly interested in and willing to help out with any beta testing when you're ready to, and it sounds like you're close :-)

Lemme know...

#65 WillCarney

WillCarney

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Bloomington, ILL

Posted 27 March 2014 - 03:23 PM

For my Nikon D40x I'm controlling it using Camera Control Pro 2 ( by Nikon). It does not allow for more than 30 seconds of course. Right now my Atlas is still in for repair so I'm restricted in time any way. I have not been able to polar align the fork mount too well. CCP2 handles the D40x well. I can autoshoot the bias and flats a lot easier. I can take series (20, 30 or whatever) of any shots. For me right now it's easier than the IR remote I was using. Good thing about the CCP2 is I found it on sale for 69.00. Currently I'm thinking about getting a D5300 which has WIFI. I'm hoping I can control the bulb under WIFI. Anyone got a 5300 that can say yes, or no? William

#66 ekallgren

ekallgren

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Northern Nevada, Reno

Posted 06 April 2014 - 11:40 AM


Got liveview working and connected to the UI last weekend. Also got capture plan to work. Both JPG and NEF raw are downloading and renaming properly but I still have issues reading the actual NEF file to reconstruct the image if you only take raw file.

After that I have about 1 dozen of minor UI tweaks and then initial beta release.

Guylain [/quote]


Guy how are the minor tweaks coming? Just can't wait!!!! :jump: :bow:
Eric

#67 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 06 April 2014 - 01:32 PM

I guess you did not see this thread.

http://www.cloudynig...6449520/page...

Guylain

#68 ekallgren

ekallgren

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Northern Nevada, Reno

Posted 06 April 2014 - 01:39 PM

Thanks Guy I found it. :jump:
And it works great in the house. :bow: Now for some clear skies and I will run it through it's paces. :grin:
Thanks again.
Eric

#69 Orange245

Orange245

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2011

Posted 06 April 2014 - 02:15 PM

Ed,

I don't have the complete list yet because I can't test them all yet :(

But I do know that any of the D3### will not work with BackyardNIKON because there is no SDK available for these models.

What I do know is that the models below do have a Nikon SDKs and should be supported in BackyardNIKON.

List of Nikon models and serial cable requirements for bulb;
D3 - I'm not sure at this point if a serial cable is required
D3S - I'm not sure at this point if a serial cable is required
D3X - I'm not sure at this point if a serial cable is required
D4 - I'm not sure at this point if a serial cable is required
D40 - Serial cable required for bulb
D60 - Serial cable required for bulb
D80 - Serial cable required for bulb
D90 - Serial cable required for bulb
D200 - I'm not sure, but I believe serial cable required for bulb
D300 - I'm not sure, but I believe serial cable required for bulb
D300S - I'm not sure, but I believe serial cable required for bulb
D600 - I'm not sure, but I believe serial cable required for bulb
D700 - I'm not sure, but I believe serial cable required for bulb
D800 - Bulb over USB supported
D5000 - Serial cable required for bulb
D5100 - Serial cable required for bulb
D5200 - Bulb over USB supported
D5300 - Bulb over USB supported
D7000 - Serial cable required for bulb
D7100 - Bulb over USB supported
D7200 - Bulb over USB supported

NOT SUPPORTED in BackyardNIKON (because Nikon does not have an SDK for these models)
D3### will NOT be supported in BackyardNIKON, so don't pick up the D3100

Hope this helps

Guylain


I confirm that D600 and D4 have bulb over USB but the other models that you are not sure about have bulb over serial.

#70 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 06 April 2014 - 03:46 PM

I confirm that D600 and D4 have bulb over USB but the other models that you are not sure about have bulb over serial.


Thanks,

Guylain

#71 kalasinman

kalasinman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2014
  • Loc: N.E.Thailand

Posted 16 June 2014 - 10:02 AM

Just downloaded Beta 2, it's working on my D5100.

#72 WillCarney

WillCarney

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Bloomington, ILL

Posted 18 June 2014 - 01:49 PM

Just downloaded Beta 2, it's working on my D5100.


I've been testing with my D5100 since the first. We recently had an issue with a missing install file. If you can't name your picture files or place them in folders you want then get the newest download. It took a little work but it was fixed. William

#73 kalasinman

kalasinman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2014
  • Loc: N.E.Thailand

Posted 07 July 2014 - 07:18 AM

When I load BYN beta2 it says: "license expires in 2 days". Really? Then I have to wait, or what? I just got my DUSB today from Doug. I'd like to continue to use it. One day isn't enough.-Jack

#74 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 07 July 2014 - 06:46 PM

Please go to my support forum for ALL support issues.

BETA 02b was release yesterday with a 60-day trial key.

Oh... where about in Thailand are you. A friend of mine is a diplomat and is being posted in Bangkok for 3 years... he his moving in 3 weeks... and I'll visit in February 2016. Is there any astronomy group in Bangkok I could visit... perhaps even do a presentation?

Thanks again,

Guylain

#75 kalasinman

kalasinman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2014
  • Loc: N.E.Thailand

Posted 08 July 2014 - 03:33 AM

You have a link to download for Beta 2b?






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics