Jump to content


Photo

Foscam Camera?

  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 tim57064

tim57064

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 10:24 AM

Hello to all.
I am shopping for a security cam that will double as a cam to view the inside of my observatory.
I intend on remotely running everything out there sometime.
I already have network cable ran if that helps.
I am looking at getting the Foscam brand, particular model number is F19821PV2B from homedepot.com .
If you think there would be a better one,from Home depot mind you, let me know. Thanks

#2 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 29 January 2014 - 12:19 PM

http://www.amazon.co...06ZP8UOW/ref...

There ya go bro. Amazon is going to be cheaper.

#3 tim57064

tim57064

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 12:35 PM

Chris I was looking at that one also,yet the resolution is lower,640x480p versus 1280x720p on the one I was thinking.

#4 CMacD

CMacD

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 171
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2012
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 29 January 2014 - 01:08 PM

How much is it at home depot?
It costs $124 at Foscam directly in Canada.

http://foscam.ca/pro...-ip-camera.html

#5 tim57064

tim57064

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 02:36 PM

Clark, It is $149.99 at homedepot.com with free shipping.Thanks For your reply.

#6 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11521
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 29 January 2014 - 02:37 PM

The model you point out, the 9821P, is exactly the one you want. :waytogo: Not only is it 1280x720, but it uses the newer H.264 compression to conserve bandwidth, and the "P" model is the low temperature one so it will work better out in the observatory. The "V2B" just means it's an updated version with the latest fixes and firmware.

Go for it!

-Dan

#7 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27933
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 02:58 PM

Are you using one, Dan? I'd like to put one in my obs. Heck, for the price, it's really not bad!

David

#8 tim57064

tim57064

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 03:04 PM

Thanks Dan,for your advice. Gonna get it for sure.

#9 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11521
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 29 January 2014 - 03:14 PM

Hi David:

I have one, but have not yet put it into my observatory. I did the research on their models and purchased it a couple of weeks ago. But, since my observatory is 12V power only, I need to make a 12V-to-5V voltage converter box and I just haven't gotten to it yet.

-Dan

#10 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27933
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 03:21 PM

Thanks, Dan! I think I'm going to order one.

David

#11 tim57064

tim57064

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 03:25 PM

Thanks to Dan, I just made the purchase of the Foscam F19821PV2B wireless video surveillance cam from Home Depot and can't wait for it to arrive.

#12 Toml08

Toml08

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Evergeen, CO

Posted 29 January 2014 - 03:33 PM

Tim I use two of the same model in my ROR and they work great. Also -28 last week for a few nights and no issues.

CS,
Tom.

#13 tim57064

tim57064

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 03:36 PM

Tom, That was and is one of my concerns.Thanks for your reply.
Now I would like to find and exterior cam,preferably foscam,that also is wireless and allows panning control.

#14 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11521
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 29 January 2014 - 03:57 PM

Hi Tim:

One thing to watch out for in outdoor tilt/pan cameras is the IR illuminator. If the camera is inside a clear dome, as many are, then the IR LEDs will not work. They reflect off the inside of the dome and blind the camera.

You can work around this by turning off the LEDs, and using a separate illuminator. Search on Amazon for "IR illuminator" and you'll find a bunch, some with photocells to turn them on and off for dark and light conditions. The problem with a separate illuminator, of course, is that it won't move with the camera.

Depending on what you need to do, you may be better off with a fixed camera like the 9804W or 9805W. The -05 model has more powerful IR illumination for longer reach, and has 960 vertical resolution instead of 720 in the -04.

For the price of these cameras, you might find it to be about the same price to buy 2 fixed cameras to cover a large area instead of one panning outdoor camera plus extra illuminators.

-Dan

#15 Jeff in Austin

Jeff in Austin

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1545
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2007
  • Loc: TEXAS

Posted 29 January 2014 - 09:23 PM

Look for the 2 packs on amazon. Save a few bucks. Also check out iSpy for camera control. A free download.

#16 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3786
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 29 January 2014 - 10:22 PM

+1 for Ispy to control your cameras.

#17 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27933
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 10:57 PM

If all I want to do with mine is monitor what's going on while imaging, what else is there that I would need besides what comes with it? My obs laptop runs from my AT&T U-verse Wifi and I have a signal booster in the living room which is about 40' from the obs. I get good signal and speed in the obs with the signal booster.

Thanks!

David

#18 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11521
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 30 January 2014 - 07:17 AM

David:

You shouldn't need anything else besides what comes with it to monitor your observatory while imaging. You can view the camera from a web browser and Foscam even has an iPhone app that you can use to monitor the camera from anywhere.

If you also want to use it for security, you might also want some additional software to record an image every second or so on your computer in the house. That way, if someone does break into your observatory, you'll have a nice photo of it to add to your family album! :grin: I use EvoCam for my Macintosh which adds each image to a movie to create a timelapse of the images.

-Dan

#19 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27933
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 30 January 2014 - 12:13 PM

This should be cool! Gotta' get it ordered and get it going. Thanks for all the information!!

David

#20 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86525
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 30 January 2014 - 01:20 PM

Looking forward to the reviews of those that have purchased one of these! I may also consider getting one, but want to read what all of you have to say about them, after using one.

#21 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11521
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 30 January 2014 - 02:14 PM

Carol:

Seems like TomIO8 in the thread above has 2 of them in his observatory and is happy with them down to -28°F.

I have one that is currently set up indoors. I plan to move it to my obs when I make a 12v-to-5v converter box to power it. But right now it is set up in a window and looks out into my yard.

I also have some less expensive no-name cameras that are designed to look and act like Foscam clones ... but they're not. The difference between the Foscam and the others is clear. The Foscam has much better dynamic range so that on high contrast snow & shadow scenes, I can still easily see what's going on in the shadows. The Foscams are also higher resolution and the image is a lot more clear.

Setting the cameras up is fairly easy, but can be a pain if you have a more complicated home network. For example, at home I have a primary wired ethernet router, a secondary wifi router for in the house, and another secondary amplified wifi router for outdoor use. I want to use the camera behind the outdoor router so I need to set up 2 levels of port forwarding, assign special ports to the cameras, etc. It gets a little funky with that kind of setup. But for normal use, it's pretty straightforward.

-Dan

#22 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27933
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 30 January 2014 - 06:29 PM

I ordered mine from B&H this morning and I received the shipping notice about 2 hours later! I use B&H for my camera needs and saw that they sold the camera. So I should have it Tuesday. Can't wait!

David

#23 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86525
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 30 January 2014 - 06:46 PM

Dan, thanks! I just have the one primary wired ethernet router for the house.

#24 Raginar

Raginar

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 30 January 2014 - 09:07 PM

Is resolution worth 75 bucks? It's a camera for looking at your telescope in a shed.

#25 PWP

PWP

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 24 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Lake Saint Louis, Missouri

Posted 31 January 2014 - 03:10 AM

Not sure if you need an IP with pan feature or not but I bought this fixed camera and mounted it to my roll away observatory eave. Works great in complete darkness to keep an eye on my scope while controlling from inside roll away that I use as a warm room so I can watch the scope for cord wrap...waterproof, very affordable too. IR's are very powerful and it looks like black and white daylight up to about 15 foot. Resolution not bad either. Bought it from Amazon with the 50 foot power/video cable. Both links are below.

http://www.amazon.co...ct?ie=UTF8&p...

http://www.amazon.co...0_i01?ie=UTF...






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics