• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Jeff Esposito

Jeff Esposito

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Omaha Ne

Posted 29 January 2014 - 06:09 PM

I really would like to try my hand at building a 12" truss tube dob, but I've no woodworking experience at all.

This means I own no power tools (other than a hand-held drill).

Is there some way I can do this without spending a bunch of money on tools such as a table saw and router?

I know there are "kits" out there that provide pre-cut wood -- but they seem expensive for what you get. Plus designing the dob seems like fun and I would lose out that with a kit.

So should I invest $500-$600 in some basic power tools and maybe take a beginner woodworking class so I don't cut off my thumbs?

Is it hard to use a focuser without thumbs? :)

#2 tag1260

tag1260

Apollo

• Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 06:22 PM

Hit your local pawn shop for power tool. They usually have them used at a great discount. If you have a drill, you could get by with a jig saw and a router. Doesn't need to be anything too fancy. I've seen guys that were good with the jig saw get by without the router but it takes a LOT of practice. I've got the tools but am just now in the process of building my first scope.

The biggest rule would naturally be, don't put your finger (or thumbs) near the business end of the tools!!!!

#3 Jeff Esposito

Jeff Esposito

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 29 January 2014 - 06:30 PM

Good idea -- buying used. I can check out pawn shops and craigslist.

Is it really possible to cut a good straight line with a jigsaw?

#4 mikey cee

mikey cee

Cosmos

• Loc: bellevue ne.

Posted 29 January 2014 - 06:38 PM

Use a clamped straight edge either wood or metal such as a yardstick etc. ;) Mike

#5 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

Soyuz

• -----
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 29 January 2014 - 06:49 PM