Photo

Remote operation of telescope from in the house.

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 peetyg

peetyg

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: outside chicago

Posted 01 February 2014 - 11:49 AM

Im a novice and I don't have a permanent observatory or rollaway shed. I am planning to install a permanent pier with cover outside. I would like to run a ethernet cat 6 line to my house and control the scope, the auto focuser, guide camera and mount from inside. My understanding is wireless is somewhat slow.

there is so much information, but I'm looking for a simple solution.

current equipment is 9.25 hd edge, starlight express micro focuser and controller, atik 460ex OCD on Hyperstar. Still need to purchase a guide scope and guide camera. Would also like to piggy back a scope on the mount in the future for visual use or other AP. Current mount is a cgem.

what control soft wear do you recommend. I current have maxim DL

Could it be as simple as using a powered usb connection and than run ethernet to the house. Help would be appreciated.

thanks

Peetyg

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 01 February 2014 - 01:31 PM

Pete,

How far away is the pier location from your house?
What do you have in between the two (lawn, driveway, etc.)?

What do you have for Ethernet equipment in your house (existing switches, Internet routers, etc.)?

#3 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

Gemini

• -----
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 01 February 2014 - 01:40 PM

Always an interesting topic, especially this year as we'll celebrate the 35th and 25th anniversaries of automatic telecopes.
In 1979 American astronomer David Skillman automated a 32 cm Cassegrain reflector using a Commodore KIM-1 and an Apple II computer.
On 15th february 1989, American astronomer Russell Genet pioneered the first remotely-controlled robotic telescope, a 25 cm Cassegrain reflector for NASA JPL.

http://www.vvs.be/we...euw-geautoma...

#4 fetoma

fetoma

Vanguard