• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 ManicSponge

ManicSponge

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Wenatchee, Wa.

Posted 23 February 2014 - 03:37 PM

I spent some time googling around, trying to find decent reviews of the Pro AZ/EQG mount, and came up short.
I currently have a Atlas EQ-G mount, that was damaged in shipping. While waiting for the backordered replacement, I notied the Pro AZ/EQG mount, though a couple hundred dollars out of my comfort zone, would allow better visual use of the 8" F3.9 newt I plan to use on the EQ-G.
I plan to use the mount primarily for AP, but it would be really nice to be able to have the family look through the scope, without doing headstands.
$500 extra is a bitter pill, but I would not need another mount, for a very long time.
Just looking for some feedback. I am brand new to AP, so there will be a monumental learning curve as it is. I just saw the ability to use it as an Alt/Az, and wondered if this might be the perfect "Do it all" mount for my needs.
Any input appreciated.
Thanks, Kyle

#2 T1R2

T1R2

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: NeverWhere, 35*N

Posted 23 February 2014 - 04:26 PM

I think it would be a good choice to get the AZ/EQ, for visual use with the family, the OTA can be adjusted to give more comfortable views with the ep turn to the side, and not having to bend over and twist like on EQ mode, plus it still tracks and goto's,

#3 epdreher

epdreher

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Republic of Texas

Posted 23 February 2014 - 04:38 PM

Pull the trigger. It's a great mount, with most reviewed samples having lower PE than the older Atlas. Mine hits just under 15 arc/sec P-P. TimC on this forum has similar results.

You can Google the Skywatcher AZ/EQ6-GT. It's the same mount but has been out longer in Europe than Orion's version here. I haven't found a bad review yet.

Here's part one of three:

http://www.firstligh...iew-part-1.html

#4 ManicSponge

ManicSponge

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 23 February 2014 - 04:51 PM