AmScope T490B

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 astronomylife

astronomylife

Viking 1

• Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, California, US

Posted 24 February 2014 - 10:49 PM

I just bought a AmScope T490B off ebay for a song ($65). How well does it perform? What should I expect to see through this? Here is a link to the listing. How does the scope check out? I see a little rust here and there. Here is the amazon link.

#2 snorkler

snorkler

Aperture Aficionado

• Loc: Bay Area, California

Posted 24 February 2014 - 11:52 PM

It sounds like you hit the jackpot. I have a lower quality Amscope B100B, and am very impressed with the quality of my microscope. See my other thread in this forum for photos I've taken through my scope.

The only caveat I have with used Amscopes is they won't sell you the binocular or trinocular heads separately, so if you buy one with a damaged head, you're SOL.

#3 astronomylife

astronomylife

Viking 1

Posted 25 February 2014 - 12:33 AM

The picture you took are amazing. How did you manage to get the pine needle? Is the view through the eyepiece the same as your pictures? Or does the DSLR manage to capture more detail/clarity?

#4 astronomylife

astronomylife

Viking 1

Posted 25 February 2014 - 12:35 AM

BTW, where did you get that blue DSLR adapter?

#5 FAB

FAB

Stargeezer

• Loc: Blythe, CA USA

Posted 25 February 2014 - 03:45 PM

I have the Amscope T490A. Please see the photo area of my Facebook pages as I've posted hundreds of images there. It's under Floie Barrows. FAB

#6 snorkler

snorkler

Aperture Aficionado

Posted 25 February 2014 - 06:12 PM

The pine needle slide came in a commercially prepared box of 25 slides that came with my microscope when I bought it. The box is labeled Amscope, but various companies sell similar teaching sets.