When do you do the actual Sketch?

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 ianfromoz

ianfromoz

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 31 March 2014 - 09:41 AM

I have always enjoyed drawing, mind you i am no master, last week i had a very enjoyable view of Mars and thinking back i would have enjoyed doing a little sketch of it.
Now i am new to astronomy and wet behind the ears so can i ask when do you actually do your sketch?
From memory straight after your viewing session, there and then when at the EP with a red light? Or do you have some other way that works for you?

Thanks
ian

#2 csa/montana

csa/montana

Den Mama

• Loc: montana

Posted 31 March 2014 - 09:46 AM

I do a "rough" sketch while at the eyepiece, noting important details. Then after the viewing session, I will work on the sketch to refine the details better. If I don't do this right away, I will forget some of the important things about the subject.

#3 ianfromoz

ianfromoz

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 31 March 2014 - 10:00 AM

Thanks, while i have not drawn a sketch as yet thats the way i was thinking of going about it.

#4 Asbytec

Asbytec

Guy in a furry hat

• Loc: La Union, PI

Posted 31 March 2014 - 10:48 AM

Yea, I agree with Carol.

Turn something like this...

Attached Files

#5 Asbytec

Asbytec

Guy in a furry hat

Posted 31 March 2014 - 10:56 AM

Into this...when you have time. (Inverted)

<painted using sketch paint.exe and mask added in Paint.net.>

Attached Files

#6 kraterkid

kraterkid

Aurora

• Loc: Jacumba, California

Posted 31 March 2014 - 12:14 PM

Generally I sketch entirely at the eyepiece Ian, but refining a rough sketch from notes on a pre-sketch is a great way to create a finished sketch, as Norme's excellent example shows. The trick is not to introduce spurious details that may be recorded when memory fades. And that's the value of a good pre-sketch.

#7 ianfromoz

ianfromoz

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 31 March 2014 - 01:41 PM

Yes very nice sketch / painting.