Jump to content


Photo

Starry Night 7 available

  • Please log in to reply
196 replies to this topic

#26 Tailwinds

Tailwinds

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2007

Posted 07 April 2014 - 03:32 PM

When issues are posted it would be nice if the OS were mentioned.
Are these issues just in the Win version or both Win and Mac versions? There always seemed to be more problems with the Win version of SN6 than the Mac version.
Ron


There are numerous bugs in both Windows and Mac versions but I get the impression that Windows Users are having most of the problems. There are many issues that I'm not experiencing on my Mac version. An update for SNPP 7 is due some time this week.

#27 QK1

QK1

    Vendor- Simulation Curriculum

  • -----
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2013

Posted 07 April 2014 - 11:40 PM

Hi Cloudy Nights,

Thank you very much for the feedback!

We have only just released V7. And, an update is coming this week. And, more updates quickly thereafter. V7 has required a tremendous investment from the company in terms of time, energy & financial resources. We have many developers working on the program at this time. And, we are deeply committed to the success of Pro Plus 7.

The beta-testers have done an amazing job so far, and continue to do so. We are very grateful for their invaluable efforts to date. Most beta-testers are going to continue working with us as well, pre-testing the new features, options, and databases, as they become ready for release. With the support of our community V7 is going to go from strength to strength as quickly as possible.

Version 7 is a tremendous undertaking. The program has been re-written from the ground up to bring everyone a clean new user interface, 3D exoplanets you can land on, 3D stars, and many other ground-breaking features. But, most importantly, Starry Night V7 has been re-written to make the program viable for the long-term future. We can build now for many years to come. This is just the beginning. There are more incredible features, like SkyFi technology, to implement. We are all very excited, and committed to the future of Version 7 - and, really, we hope you are too! V7 is, after all, for you.

We know there are some short-comings at the moment in 7.0.0, but we are working very hard, and very fast, to get all the issues fixed, to get the patches released though the update system. So, in short, I hope you can be patient and, if possible, even work with us. Let us know what the specific issues are. We are listening to everyone! If you have an issue, we want to know about it.

If you discovered any issues in SN7 please come to the support website, and submit a ticket. Many issues are already known, and already fixed, and you'll see these improvements in the 7.0.1 update later this week. Other issues are known, and the developers are working on them everyday. But, still, you may find an issue that is not known to us. So please, submit a ticket and let us know about it.

https://support.simu...us_requests/new

Version 7 is a big commitment to our software platform - for our loyal Starry Night Community - and with your help, we can all make it the best Starry Night yet!

Thank you for supporting Version 7

Simulation Currciulum

#28 RandallK

RandallK

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Nanaimo, B. C. Canada

Posted 08 April 2014 - 12:35 PM

I don't think most of us care about landing on other planets. What we want is a dependable program that we can use here on Earth! We want SN7 to have a working functionality like SN6 but without the bugs...that's all. As an astro-imager, I want it to contain my equipment inventory so I can see field-of-views before I shoot, give me an idea of what's up in the sky at the time, and be able to control my mount. The all sky image taxes many laptops' performance and I personally don't think it is required for doing stuff out in the field. (Although I think as in SN6, you can turn it off.)
  • markc2 and firstmagnitude like this

#29 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1967
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 08 April 2014 - 06:24 PM

+1 I also want a program to use in my observatory to plan observing sessions, keep a log, help identify satellites that are caught in my images,a FOV that would allow me to judge in advance what I might capture with my DSLR with different combinations of my equipment without crashing . I need a program that won't crash after a few minutes of checking out the new features and as far as I am concerned this V7 should not have been released. It does not meet even the simple basic needs. V6 is light years ahead of V7. I would rather see the company turn their attention to the meat of the program and not to the fancy graphics and 3D flyby garbage you seem so hung up on. BTW in case I have not been clear enough I am a less than satisfied customer and would advise any one considering the purchasing or upgrading to V7 hold off until these guys get their act together.
Grey
  • firstmagnitude likes this

#30 RandallK

RandallK

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Nanaimo, B. C. Canada

Posted 08 April 2014 - 11:50 PM

I agree Grey...it is way to premature to be on the retail shelf. Too bad the Canadians who first developed SN turned it over to Imaginova..eh?

#31 Tailwinds

Tailwinds

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2007

Posted 09 April 2014 - 01:43 AM

Hi Cloudy Nights,

Thank you very much for the feedback!


The beta-testers have done an amazing job so far, and continue to do so. We are very grateful for their invaluable efforts to date. Most beta-testers are going to continue working with us as well, pre-testing the new features, options, and databases, as they become ready for release.


Beta testers?? You mean us,..the paying public! I would presume that most of us have better things to do than testing your software after we have already paid for it. Paying customers should not be placed in the position of beta testing. Reporting the odd bug is fine. You touted for beta testers on your support pages before you even released the product. It was their job to do the testing, not ours!

Let's take one example. The angular separation doesn't work, it was actually reported to you during the beta testing phase yet you still released the product without fixing it. Bad form if you ask me.

The program has been re-written from the ground up to bring everyone a clean new user interface, 3D exoplanets you can land on, 3D stars,


There was nothing wrong with the interface on SNP version 6. Who want's to bother landing on exo-planets and stars? Nobody knows what these exo-planets are like so it's just an unrealistic gimmicky feature that serves no purpose. If I want to land on planets I will buy a 'Game'.

#32 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1967
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 09 April 2014 - 03:38 PM

No response from SN7 so far to our observations on SN7. I wonder if there will be updates this week. I just received the back up disc I ordered with the download. I'd love to have a stable SN7 to use on my W8.1 machine. I'm not going to install it on my desktop w7 os, until it becomes functional and reliable.
Be Well
Grey

#33 ordep

ordep

    Vendor

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2011

Posted 09 April 2014 - 04:29 PM

Hi Randall,

The original developers and team are still here - including the founders of Starry Night - Ted and Tom - who have worked long hours on version 7. We recognize that there are indeed some issues with the initial release (7 is a rewrite of the code), and we are working as quickly as we can to address them. This Friday's 7.0.1 update will address a vast majority of those. Moving forward we are committed to enhancing and adding features that are useful for all user's of Starry Night - be it observing tools or landing on exoplanets.

#34 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1967
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 12 April 2014 - 08:37 AM

Well it's Saturday morning, has anyone downloaded and installed the update yet? Does anyone know if the disc that was ordered when I bought the program is of any use. I did not think that I would have issues with a program that was suppose to have been Beta tested before release but find that it seems the development team feels that the users of SN are IT specialist that enjoy finding and debugging code issues an interesting pastime. It would be nice to get some feed back that is directed to users that have no training in programing and are only interested in using a program that was sold as being ready for release.
Be Well
Grey

#35 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1967
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 12 April 2014 - 12:24 PM

I uploaded and installed the latest update and edited my equipment list and did some general exploration of the program features for about an hour and did not have any crashing issues. If the stability continues I may be able to give V7 a real try.
Grey

#36 kornephoros

kornephoros

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2008

Posted 12 April 2014 - 02:35 PM

Grey,

I have updated my Win 8.1 computer to 7.0.1.104 and I still cannot save my changes to the equipment list. I have tried running the program as a normal user (administrator account) and with the 'run as administrator' option. When I reopen SN the default equipment list is loaded. Do you have any tips or suggestions?

Paul

#37 pjglad

pjglad

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 242
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011

Posted 12 April 2014 - 02:45 PM

Grey,

I have updated my Win 8.1 computer to 7.0.1.104 and I still cannot save my changes to the equipment list. I have tried running the program as a normal user (administrator account) and with the 'run as administrator' option. When I reopen SN the default equipment list is loaded. Do you have any tips or suggestions?

Paul


It's a bug

#38 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1967
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 12 April 2014 - 03:27 PM

Paul I just run as normal user and just added a couple of eyepieces to my list and deleted the sample items when I restarted the program the new eyepieces were listed in both the telescope list under each scope I own plus included in the eyepiece list. Oh Ya, the program didn't crash either. Will wonders never cease?
Wish I could be of more help.
Be Well
Grey

#39 abaum

abaum

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2012

Posted 12 April 2014 - 05:25 PM

What I find interesting in this is that I really haven't had any problems with SN7. My equipment list saved just fine, no crashes, etc. About the only thing I notice is a weird artifacting when I move the slider in my location preferences. When I move my default view from South to East, the text above the slider bar says Easth East.

Adam

#40 RandallK

RandallK

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Nanaimo, B. C. Canada

Posted 12 April 2014 - 09:07 PM

There are more issues. If you set up a CCD camera, the rectangle for its field of view cannot be spun around to frame what objects you want to include. The equipment lists have by default, populated samples..eg. sample eyepiece, sample scope. If you try to delete these, they only come back again upon a program re-start. In most cases you cannot customize your colours for field of views for CCD cameras and eyepieces...only the default list of colours can be used. In SN6 you can do this. Yada...yada....yada..

#41 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1967
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 13 April 2014 - 07:12 AM

Randall I edited my equipment list both for telescopes and eyepieces removed the sample entries and added new and the changes were saved when I restarted SN7 on my W8.1 laptop after the update. Wish I could help you. I hope others here might be more helpful.
Be Well
Grey

#42 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15842
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 13 April 2014 - 01:58 PM

If the list isn't being saved, likely reason is that you are not running the program as Administrator...give that a try. ;)

#43 helgeras

helgeras

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2012

Posted 13 April 2014 - 02:53 PM

How do I add a CCD camera so I can see its FOV?
I have figured out how to add telescope and eyepieces using the Equipment tab, but I cannot find camera setup anywhere.

Helge

#44 kornephoros

kornephoros

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2008

Posted 13 April 2014 - 03:12 PM

Hi Rod.

I have SNPP7 7.0.1.104 installed on two fully updated Win 8.1 laptops. I have tried running the program as an administrator on both machines. I can't successfully save the equipment list on either machine. I get the same results as Randall does.

Paul

#45 RandallK

RandallK

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Nanaimo, B. C. Canada

Posted 13 April 2014 - 10:22 PM

Yea...it is still very buggy and NOT dependable yet. SN6 is still my choice in the field. (As a matter of fact, so is XP!)

#46 obrazell

obrazell

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2005
  • Loc: United Kingdom

Posted 14 April 2014 - 05:41 AM

Strangely on both a Windows 7 desktop and a Windows 8.1 Update 1 tablet I can add new telescopes and eyepieces and exit and then return and it all seems saved. There was an error with one of the selected telescopes whereby the name appeared to have odd ASCII characters after it but I could edit those out and then it saved fine. On the Windows 7 desktop it was run as Admin to get the link between Deep Space Planner and SN7 working but on the tablet I can't remember but I am guessing I am a local admin anyway.

#47 RandallK

RandallK

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Nanaimo, B. C. Canada

Posted 17 April 2014 - 01:20 PM

What I was saying is that you can add your equipment and it stays there. It is when you try to delete the sample equipment. When you delete it, it disappears, but when you restart the program, the sample equipment re-appears.

#48 btschumy

btschumy

    Vendor - Simulation Curriculum

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2211
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2004
  • Loc: Longmont, CO, USA

Posted 17 April 2014 - 02:15 PM

Please file a bug on this if you haven't.

https://support.simu...iculum.com/home

#49 caheaton

caheaton

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1632
  • Joined: 26 May 2009
  • Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 17 April 2014 - 07:56 PM

Well, I went ahead and purchased this program today. Not a bad deal given that I already had a copy of the Orion version of this program (about $90 for the upgrade). Played with it for a few minutes, no bugs encountered so far and it offers a wealth of information. I like the new search interface.

However, here are a couple questions/suggestions for the developers. First, why isn't this 64 bit software? Given the amount of data being handled, I'm sure 64 bit may have been more efficient. Next, when using the CCD sky panning is a tad jerky, even though I'm using an 8 core 3.1 Ghz CPU and 16 GB DRAM and running from a SSD. The video card should be more than adequate, as it's a Radeon 7750 with 1.125 Ghz GPU and 1 GB of video RAM. Other than those two items, the program seems fine so far. If I encounter any bugs, I'll post them here.

#50 caheaton

caheaton

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1632
  • Joined: 26 May 2009
  • Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 17 April 2014 - 10:22 PM

Well, I have found one item so far. The label for Bootes is "Bo7tes".

UPDATE: Another strange item. If you turn off the all sky CCD image, you have to save your settings for it to take effect. Then as soon as you turn on any labels (such as the Messiers), the CCD image comes back, even though it's still off in preferences! I have to save it again for it to switch off. Also, if you zoom in (or out) on an object, the CCD image switches back on again and won't go off until you save. Very annoying. Please fix this bug!






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics