Simple Instructions For A-P RAPAS Setup

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Peter Natscher

Peter Natscher

Viking 1

• Loc: Central Coast California

Posted 03 April 2014 - 10:37 PM

I've just attached a new A-P RAPAS Polar Alignment Scope to my newly received 1100GTO mount. I've never used this polar scope before. The entire transportable pier, mount and scope are set up in my garage. The RAPAS reticle is illuminated with the red LED. I don't know how to position Polaris in this new-to-me reticle. There's no published instructions. I'm just doing visual observing. Polaris needs to be placed somewhere inside the outer ring of the reticle. Are the hour numbers 1-24 celestial RA hours or current time hours? Could someone please tell me the simple instructions of how to place Polaris in this reticle?

#2 Edd Weninger

Edd Weninger

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 04 April 2014 - 12:20 AM

Somewhere there is an iPhone app for what you need. An Android was to follow.

Best check the A-P website or send an email to either George or Howard. Or phone them.

I hear it works well. I don't have one 'cause I'm pier mounted.

Cheers,

#3 Jeff Crilly

Jeff Crilly

Lift Off

Posted 04 April 2014 - 12:51 AM

I use the iPhone app. It works great.

Check out the AP page for more info.. http://www.astro-phy...ing_acc/moun...

This part....

Methods to Determine Position of Polaris on Reticle:

Astro-Physics Polar Alignment Scope Utility - now a part of the AP V2 ASCOM driver
iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch App - Click this link to the "Astro-Physics PolarAlign" App
Windows Phone App - Click this link to the "AP Polar Align" App
Android App - Click this link to the "Polar Finder" App

#4 RAKing

RAKing

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: West of the D.C. Nebula

Posted 04 April 2014 - 09:17 AM