Beginner backyard astronomy science experiments

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 mostlyemptyspace

mostlyemptyspace

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 18 April 2014 - 10:58 AM

Hi all. I've been doing visual astronomy for a few years now, and recently dabbled in astrophotography. I am also interested in actual science, so I've been doing some research on ways I can do sort of fun experiments in my back yard. I've been asking around, and everyone says this is the forum to ask.

The first thing that jumped out at me was spectroscopy. It seems with the SA100 + RSpec you can pretty much jump right in. I would love to be able to use this to get a sort of high level profile of a star, e.g., it's chemical makeup, rotation, mass, type, distance, etc. Is this something I can expect to be able to do with this setup? I'd love to hear people's experience with spectroscopy.

Then, I found this Target Asteroids! project, which seems fun and useful, but I'm wondering if I can even see asteroids. I have a Celestron Nexstar 8SE. Can I even detect asteroids? What magnitude are they typically? Again, I'd love to hear someone's feedback who's done this.

What would you guys recommend someone who pretty much only does visual observing wanting to get my feet wet with some actual experiments or scientific observing?

#2 Rich (RLTYS)

Rich (RLTYS)

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: New York (Long Island)

Posted 19 April 2014 - 06:53 AM

Why not observe Variable Stars? You don't need a lot of equipment and you can make a real contribution to Astronomy.

Rich (RLTYS)

#3 Ed Wiley

Ed Wiley

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Kansas, USA

Posted 20 April 2014 - 03:22 PM