Jump to content


Photo

iAstroHub: Tablet astrophotography comes true!

  • Please log in to reply
366 replies to this topic

#351 mega1977

mega1977

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2013

Posted 10 November 2014 - 11:43 AM

I agree, but after having seen also another unit on another power bank to have the same behaviour, i've decided to investigate.

 

I found this however:

http://servalpaul.bl...umption-of.html

Very interesting.

 

This weekend i hope i can test the exact same setup, but i will use a laptop instead of the mk. If it's a battery issue, i will run out of power again.

Will let you know

Thanks



#352 Rupuha

Rupuha

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2009

Posted 10 November 2014 - 12:41 PM

 

Hi

I have been running Iastrohub successfully on the Mk808b (great work Anat btw) and decided to try the CX919 (from geekbuying). I have hit a problem and wonder if anyone can help.

 

When I use the Finless RKandroid tool everything seems to work ok, but the device does not boot afterwards and no hdmi signal. I have tried several versions of finless and still nothing.

 

I can restore using the RKbatch tool v1.7 and the stock rom image.

 

I have looked at the forums and there does seem to be a problem with some cx919s.

 

Has anyone had similar problems and found a workaround? Or is there a way of loading IAH as a single image file using the RKbatch tool?

 

Thanks

I am working on a bootable SD image which does not need flashing the kernel. It works even with a bricked RK3188 device. Could you try the image for MK802iv (AP6210) in the following link? And let me know if linux boots properly.

https://plus.google....sts/P6TNn3sisa2

 

Anat

 

Hello Anat, I'm having the same issue with loading iastrohub software CX919 as djmarshall. I've tried the link you provided and ubuntu loaded without any problems.



#353 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6549
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 10 November 2014 - 08:22 PM

RE: power consumption

 

I'd like to share what I had measured on MK808 (RK3066 based) and CX919 II (RK3188 based, the one I have is a full RK3188, not cost reduced RK3188T version.)

 

I used a digital ampere meter to perform the measurement.

Test condition: Android 4.3 and 4.4, using Antutu full test suite.

 

Supply voltage 5 Volt.

 

MK808, idle:650mA, CPU stress test: 1250 mA, graphics test: 2000mA

    Note under the latter two, CPU and RAM chips generate tremendous amount of heat (beyond factory heatsink), I retrofit with big one with fan cooling.

              2A is a big stretch on the power supply, power cable, and the USB-based power connector.

              In brief, I would suggest stay away from this old design.

 

CX919 II: idle: 450mA, CPU stress test: 900mA, graphics test: 1350mA.

    Note: CPU is much cooler (RK3188 is 28nm geometry.)  However, the build is too cheap even to include a real heatsink.

              Suggest to use a large heatsink but active fan cooling may be avoided.  

              Power supply is okayish as it is.

 

My suggestion: use a CX919 II, great benefit when compare with the old RK3066 based.

 

Note: iAstrohub under Linux may not be that stressing on the CPU at all.   I doubt any load is used on Graphics (Mali 400.)

 

Clear Skies!

 

ccs_hello



#354 tango13

tango13

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 16 Mar 2011
  • Loc: Rome, Italy

Posted 11 November 2014 - 02:15 AM

From what I see in my setup (MK808 with Linux and iAH, digital ampere meter), when I switch the whole system on (that is including voltage converters, LEDs and the MK808 but excluding any other thing like mount or Arduino), the current draw from the battery is around 250-280 mA and the MK808 is only slightly warm.

In this configuration my 17 Ah battery can last for days :)

 

Ciao,

Piero



#355 mega1977

mega1977

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2013

Posted 11 November 2014 - 03:27 AM

Hi all

thanks for your answers.

As I already said, it's unlikely that the mk808b in a perfect world be the reason for the power drain on the battery (88ah hybrid marine)

Yesterday i've verfiied my battery is fine. Replicated my setup indoor (5-6 degrees higher temp than on field last time) and used a dell battlefield 300 euro laptop. Overcharged it, disabled power management constraints.

Attached also mount (launched sideral mode and let it run), guide camera and some other usb devices (put some music and an avi to loop in background from usb disk). 6 hours laters i stopped watching films on my tv by notebook hdmi (notebook screen in use most also) and went to sleep.

No problems. Battery still at 12,4, not bad ... i knew it, i had to attach my fridge too!!

This evening i will retry with the mk instead, i'm almost convinced the issue is elsewhere, i just have to find it.



#356 ggkids

ggkids

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Loc: Italy, Perugia

Posted 11 November 2014 - 03:43 AM

Hi all

thanks for your answers.

As I already said, it's unlikely that the mk808b in a perfect world be the reason for the power drain on the battery (88ah hybrid marine)

Yesterday i've verfiied my battery is fine. Replicated my setup indoor (5-6 degrees higher temp than on field last time) and used a dell battlefield 300 euro laptop. Overcharged it, disabled power management constraints.

Attached also mount (launched sideral mode and let it run), guide camera and some other usb devices (put some music and an avi to loop in background from usb disk). 6 hours laters i stopped watching films on my tv by notebook hdmi (notebook screen in use most also) and went to sleep.

No problems. Battery still at 12,4, not bad ... i knew it, i had to attach my fridge too!!

This evening i will retry with the mk instead, i'm almost convinced the issue is elsewhere, i just have to find it.

 

From an electric point of view if your 28A battery went down after an hour something consumes lot of energy...maybe there was a short circuit somewhere? If MK808B consumed that energy it would burn out after few seconds, so I suggest you ti discover where there is the problem.



#357 djmarshall

djmarshall

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2010

Posted 11 November 2014 - 04:14 AM

 

Hi

I have been running Iastrohub successfully on the Mk808b (great work Anat btw) and decided to try the CX919 (from geekbuying). I have hit a problem and wonder if anyone can help.

 

When I use the Finless RKandroid tool everything seems to work ok, but the device does not boot afterwards and no hdmi signal. I have tried several versions of finless and still nothing.

 

I can restore using the RKbatch tool v1.7 and the stock rom image.

 

I have looked at the forums and there does seem to be a problem with some cx919s.

 

Has anyone had similar problems and found a workaround? Or is there a way of loading IAH as a single image file using the RKbatch tool?

 

Thanks

I am working on a bootable SD image which does not need flashing the kernel. It works even with a bricked RK3188 device. Could you try the image for MK802iv (AP6210) in the following link? And let me know if linux boots properly.

https://plus.google....sts/P6TNn3sisa2

 

Anat

 

Hi Anat

Thanks for the link. Yes it works and recognises wifi. Seems stable. I have freed up the rest of the sd card memory and run apt-get update/upgrade without problem. A bootable sd image for iAH based on this would be great.

Regards

David



#358 mega1977

mega1977

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2013

Posted 11 November 2014 - 04:41 AM

Checked yesterday, all is fine.

The only other reason  i can think of is that the battery charger i used that time has some kind of problem to charge this battery correctly.

 

However, my battery it's 88ah and went down in three hours. The 28ah power bank that went down in one hour belongs to a friends, and there i cannot guarantee that power source is fine, so  i will concentrate on my own setup. the fact all two batteries went down when connected to a mk808b could be a unfortunate cohincidence.

Will retry this evening in same conditions of yesterday's succesfull run, but adding the mk808b to the setup. I dont think there will be much difference, according to people's measurements i shouldnt see any difference.

Dont want to pollute this thread further, will let you know how it ends

 

 



#359 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 12 November 2014 - 06:46 AM

 

 

Hello Anat,

 this is the output of ifconfig:

root@rk3066dev:~# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 98:3b:16:39:14:33 
          inet addr:10.0.0.1  Bcast:10.0.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::9a3b:16ff:fe39:1433/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:215 errors:0 dropped:22 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:205 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:26250 (26.2 KB)  TX bytes:29831 (29.8 KB)

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:e0:4c:53:44:58 
          inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4cff:fe53:4458/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:8956 (8.9 KB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1668 (1.6 KB)  TX bytes:1668 (1.6 KB)

lxcbr0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 3a:82:ef:50:90:c2 
          inet addr:10.0.3.1  Bcast:10.0.3.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::3882:efff:fe50:90c2/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:5938 (5.9 KB)

mon.eth0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-30-30-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

 

 

So now I only have to get the IP address from DHCP of route for the ETH1, right? How can I do it?

 

Thanks in advance!

 

G.

Please use this command

 

sudo dhclient -v eth1

 

 

Hi Anat,

 how can I change the configurations files in order to get IP address at boot time also for eth1?

 

Thanks in advance,

 G.

 

 

You can put 

 

sudo dhclient -v eth1

 

in /etc/rc.local before exit 0

 

or put

 

auto eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp

 

in /etc/network/interfaces

 

The latter one will make the device freeze for two minutes if the IP address is not assigned.



#360 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 12 November 2014 - 06:50 AM

Hello,

anybody has report on power consumption for the istrohub? I'm particularly interested in mk808b.

I use it connected to usbtocigarette lighter converter connected to a cigarette female plug attached to the battery.

 

More then often i'm on battery power, using a 88ah deep cycle battery. Last time i used it i astrohub, my battery ran out of juice after three hours of use.

Also plugged were my eq6 mount and guide camera (qhy6), powered trough a usb hub connected to the mk808b.

Not so much devices for a 88ah ...

I did not think at mk as the cause of the drain till the night i helped a friend to set up his new iastrohub on a new mk808b. He was using a power bank, about 28ah, and it ran out of juice while doing first tests in about 1 hours. Like me he had just a mount attached to battery and a guide camera attached to the mk808b (a qhy5)

We didnt even do platesolving, main duty is guide

Anbody has data on power drain and has extensively tried to run it on dc battery power?

 

The device draws about 0.5 - 1 amp.  This user's review also shows 0.5A

http://www.astronomy...292670-1-1.html

 

I would suspect the 12v to 5v adapter.

 

Anat



#361 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 12 November 2014 - 06:52 AM

Hello Anat, I'm having the same issue with loading iastrohub software CX919 as djmarshall. I've tried the link you provided and ubuntu loaded without any problems.

 

 

 

Many thanks. I will focus my development using the bootable image :)  

 

Best regards,

Anat



#362 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 12 November 2014 - 06:54 AM

Hi Anat

 

Thanks for the link. Yes it works and recognises wifi. Seems stable. I have freed up the rest of the sd card memory and run apt-get update/upgrade without problem. A bootable sd image for iAH based on this would be great.

Regards

David

 

David

 

Thanks for confirming this. I am working on the image  :)

 

Best regards,

Anat



#363 mtroncoso

mtroncoso

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Posted 13 November 2014 - 10:15 AM

 

Hi Anat

 

Thanks for the link. Yes it works and recognises wifi. Seems stable. I have freed up the rest of the sd card memory and run apt-get update/upgrade without problem. A bootable sd image for iAH based on this would be great.

Regards

David

 

David

 

Thanks for confirming this. I am working on the image   :)

 

Best regards,

Anat

 

 

Hi Anat

 

It seems that my Tronsmart CX 919 is bricked. I can boot from the sd image though. Looking forward to this bootable iAH sd image!

 

Best,

Manuel



#364 DetlefL

DetlefL

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2014

Posted 17 November 2014 - 01:00 PM

Hi

I have been running Iastrohub successfully on the Mk808b (great work Anat btw) and decided to try the CX919 (from geekbuying). I have hit a problem and wonder if anyone can help.

 

When I use the Finless RKandroid tool everything seems to work ok, but the device does not boot afterwards and no hdmi signal. I have tried several versions of finless and still nothing.

 

I can restore using the RKbatch tool v1.7 and the stock rom image.

 

I have looked at the forums and there does seem to be a problem with some cx919s.

 

Has anyone had similar problems and found a workaround? Or is there a way of loading IAH as a single image file using the RKbatch tool?

 

Thanks

 

Hello,

same issue with my cx-919 (Tronsmart, one antenna version). First I thought it is bricked and bought another one, but same problem. I tried then to load FinlessRom for this device and it works but extreeeeemly slooooow! When I move the mouse, the cursor needs around five seconds to react.

I'll try the image for MK802iv anat provided.

 

Regards, Detlef


Edited by DetlefL, 17 November 2014 - 01:01 PM.


#365 DetlefL

DetlefL

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2014

Posted 20 November 2014 - 03:08 PM

 

Hi

I have been running Iastrohub successfully on the Mk808b (great work Anat btw) and decided to try the CX919 (from geekbuying). I have hit a problem and wonder if anyone can help.

 

When I use the Finless RKandroid tool everything seems to work ok, but the device does not boot afterwards and no hdmi signal. I have tried several versions of finless and still nothing.

 

I can restore using the RKbatch tool v1.7 and the stock rom image.

 

I have looked at the forums and there does seem to be a problem with some cx919s.

 

Has anyone had similar problems and found a workaround? Or is there a way of loading IAH as a single image file using the RKbatch tool?

 

Thanks

 

Hello,

same issue with my cx-919 (Tronsmart, one antenna version). First I thought it is bricked and bought another one, but same problem. I tried then to load FinlessRom for this device and it works but extreeeeemly slooooow! When I move the mouse, the cursor needs around five seconds to react.

I'll try the image for MK802iv anat provided.

 

Regards, Detlef

 

Result: Working fine with cx-919 I .

 

Detlef



#366 ecloud

ecloud

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013

Posted 23 November 2014 - 06:55 AM

New image of IC1805

The whole system works wonderfully in around 2 hours, 5 mins each frame

 

get.jpg

 

Hope the new version could be ready soon ^_^



#367 Jason Lin

Jason Lin

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2011

Posted 25 November 2014 - 02:27 AM

Hi Anat,

 

I am back in this thread.

 

last weekend, I went out using iAstrohub for astrophotography. it is the first time I get some serious result from iAstrohub. I accumulate around 8 hours useful exposure in two nights. Here you can find one of the result. it works great.

 

Attached File  m78-horse-head.jpg   353.46KB   7 downloads

 

But I also have a problem with it. when my mount (AZEQ6) points east, it is perfect, but when my mount points west, only one axis works. Would you give me some hints why it perform like this?

 

Jason


Edited by Jason Lin, 25 November 2014 - 02:31 AM.







Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics