Jump to content


Photo

iAstroHub: Tablet astrophotography comes true!

  • Please log in to reply
310 replies to this topic

#151 xb39

xb39

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2013

Posted 06 July 2014 - 05:59 PM

To use the rest space of TF card:
fdisk /dev/mmcblk0
Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 15.9 GB, 15931539456 bytes
81 heads, 10 sectors/track, 38415 cylinders, total 31116288 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000cc03b

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/mmcblk0p1 2048 15523839 7760896 83 Linux

Command (m for help): n
Partition type:
p primary (1 primary, 0 extended, 3 free)
e extended
Select (default p): 1
Invalid partition type `1'

Command (m for help): n
Partition type:
p primary (1 primary, 0 extended, 3 free)
e extended
Select (default p): p
Partition number (1-4, default 2): 2
First sector (15523840-31116287, default 15523840):
Using default value 15523840
Last sector, +sectors or +size{K,M,G} (15523840-31116287, default 31116287):
Using default value 31116287

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 15.9 GB, 15931539456 bytes
81 heads, 10 sectors/track, 38415 cylinders, total 31116288 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000cc03b

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/mmcblk0p1 2048 15523839 7760896 83 Linux
/dev/mmcblk0p2 15523840 31116287 7796224 83 Linux

Command (m for help): w
The partition table has been altered!

Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.

WARNING: Re-reading the partition table failed with error 16: Device or resource busy.
The kernel still uses the old table. The new table will be used at
the next reboot or after you run partprobe(8) or kpartx(8)

WARNING: If you have created or modified any DOS 6.x
partitions, please see the fdisk manual page for additional
information.
Syncing disks.
root@rk3066dev:~# reboot

root@rk3066dev:~# mkfs -t ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p2
mke2fs 1.42.5 (29-Jul-2012)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=4096 (log=2)
Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
487680 inodes, 1949056 blocks
97452 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=0
Maximum filesystem blocks=1996488704
60 block groups
32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
8128 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912, 819200, 884736, 1605632

Allocating group tables: done
Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (32768 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

root@rk3066dev:~# e2label /dev/mmcblk0p2 images


===================================
then, modify /etc/fstab
write a similar line like your /
the mount point should be /home/pi/www/images (Anyone want to mount it to another place?)

It's a bad idea to extend the /
To have a separate images file system will prevent the images from filling up your /



Hi ecloud,
I could follow you up to the red lines. Then it is not cleear for me as an Linux-NOOB what I should do exactely.

Sorry for my ignorance!

Best regards
Stefan

#152 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 06 July 2014 - 10:14 PM

You can use the command "resize2fs" to resize the filesystem partition.

Best regards,
Anat

#153 xb39

xb39

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2013

Posted 08 July 2014 - 01:26 AM

Hi Anat,
thanks for the tip.
Best regards
Stefan

#154 Mikele

Mikele

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Warsaw, Poland

Posted 11 July 2014 - 03:57 PM

Hi Anat,

I'm going to vacation next week. Is there a chance for this 1-axis guider patch? I have Star Adventurer mount so I'm really interested in testing/using it with iAstroHub.

Btw. I have experimented with iAstroHub and arduino (with big help from tango13 - thank you again Piero) but without success yet ;) I need to learn more about linux and arduino and I need this vacation and some clear sky :)

Best regards,
Mikele

#155 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 11 July 2014 - 06:57 PM

Mekele,

The patch will be finished in a few days.

Best regards,
Anat

#156 tango13

tango13

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 16 Mar 2011
  • Loc: Rome, Italy

Posted 12 July 2014 - 01:25 AM

Btw. I have experimented with iAstroHub and arduino (with big help from tango13 - thank you again Piero) but without success yet ;) I need to learn more about linux and arduino and I need this vacation and some clear sky :)


Mikele,
feel free to ask if you think I can be of any further help to you about the arduino issue.

Ciao,
Piero

#157 Jason Lin

Jason Lin

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2011

Posted 13 July 2014 - 11:49 PM

Hi Anat,

I have also received my new mount, looking forward the new patch to test the single-axis function. thanks.

Hi Anat,

I will also receive my mount in the following days and will also test the single-axis guiding in next week.

I have two more questions:
1. can 400D with FTDI-based usb-serial adapter be support in this new release?
2. will the new release also support MK808B with Bluetooth?

Jason


Hi Jason,

I will release the patch which supports
1) FTDI shutter control
2) Single axis guiding
3) Script to activate Wifi for MK808B. (But there is no support for bluetooth)
next week :)

Best regards,
Anat



#158 ecloud

ecloud

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013

Posted 14 July 2014 - 11:51 PM

Hi Stefan

you can modify your /etc/fstab like this:

# UNCONFIGURED FSTAB FOR BASE SYSTEM
/dev/root / ext4 defaults,noatime 0 0
tmpfs /var/log tmpfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs /var/tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/mmcblk0p2 /home/pi/www/images ext4 defaults 0 0

#159 ggkids

ggkids

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Loc: Italy, Perugia

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:19 AM

Hello Anat,
I had the opportunity to test iAstroHub on field last night but a really weird thing happened: I had no chance to connect with it via wifi in Windows (7-64bit) nor Linux (same pc) and even from another pc; I was able to see the wifi but it failed to get linked. I also tried to switch-off my firewall and the wifi signal was excellent (few centimeters from the MK808B. At the end I tried with my android Galaxy-S and...It accessed with any problem! I was able only to be connect in this way but due to the fact I have no VNC client on the phone I was not able to configure lin_guider. I did everything first time I installed iAstoHub and I did not have any of this issue with my laptop. The strange thing is that the other laptop was onr of a friend of mine so two different pcs same failure. Do you have any suggestion about this?
Thank you very much!

#160 ecloud

ecloud

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013

Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:57 AM

Hi Anat,

May I know how to connect to a Nikon DSLR? like D7000
Which protocol to use?
I chose protocol 1 and 2, the system can both read the pics in D7000, but the shutter does not work. The top LCD on D700 is flashing but never shoot

#161 ecloud

ecloud

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013

Posted 16 July 2014 - 04:01 AM

You can try to use static ip first.
I have met such error once, and solved by using static ip

#162 ggkids

ggkids

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Loc: Italy, Perugia

Posted 16 July 2014 - 05:56 AM

It even does not link to the wifi so is not possible to set a static IP, the problem comes before :(

#163 netwolf

netwolf

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2005
  • Loc: NSW, Australia

Posted 16 July 2014 - 07:01 AM

Would solar planet imaging be possible to do with such a setup, just wondering if the higher frame rates would be an issue.

#164 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:55 AM

Hello Anat,
I had the opportunity to test iAstroHub on field last night but a really weird thing happened: I had no chance to connect with it via wifi in Windows (7-64bit) nor Linux (same pc) and even from another pc; I was able to see the wifi but it failed to get linked. I also tried to switch-off my firewall and the wifi signal was excellent (few centimeters from the MK808B. At the end I tried with my android Galaxy-S and...It accessed with any problem! I was able only to be connect in this way but due to the fact I have no VNC client on the phone I was not able to configure lin_guider. I did everything first time I installed iAstoHub and I did not have any of this issue with my laptop. The strange thing is that the other laptop was onr of a friend of mine so two different pcs same failure. Do you have any suggestion about this?
Thank you very much!


Win 7 doesn't easily allow the connection to WEP. Please read how to connect to the WEP network here:
http://www.neowin.ne...ng-to-wep-wifi/

Or you can google using the keyword: Win 7, WEP

Best regards,
Anat

#165 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:59 AM

Hi Anat,

May I know how to connect to a Nikon DSLR? like D7000
Which protocol to use?
I chose protocol 1 and 2, the system can both read the pics in D7000, but the shutter does not work. The top LCD on D700 is flashing but never shoot


Hi ecloud,

Nikon 7000 doesn't allow the shutter control via usb. So you need another cable to control the shutter:
1. Shoestring DSUSB or
2. FTDI usb serial adapter + DIY serial shutter cable
The code to support FTDI will be done by this Friday). I am sorry for the long delay.

Best regards,
Anat

#166 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 16 July 2014 - 11:01 AM

Would solar planet imaging be possible to do with such a setup, just wondering if the higher frame rates would be an issue.


The frame rate is as low as 5-10 fps. So, it is definitely not appropriate for planetary imaging.

Best regards,
Anat

#167 ecloud

ecloud

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013

Posted 16 July 2014 - 01:42 PM

Hi Anat,

May I know how to connect to a Nikon DSLR? like D7000
Which protocol to use?
I chose protocol 1 and 2, the system can both read the pics in D7000, but the shutter does not work. The top LCD on D700 is flashing but never shoot


Hi ecloud,

Nikon 7000 doesn't allow the shutter control via usb. So you need another cable to control the shutter:
1. Shoestring DSUSB or
2. FTDI usb serial adapter + DIY serial shutter cable
The code to support FTDI will be done by this Friday). I am sorry for the long delay.

Best regards,
Anat

So for D7000 I need two cables? One is for receiving images and one is for FTDI shutter?
And which Nikon modules can be supported by a single USB?

#168 Soncebos

Soncebos

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2014
  • Loc: Germany, NRW

Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:18 PM

Hello ecloud,
I have no idea if any Nikon Models support single cable
Long time exposure, but building a shutter release cable is a
Very easy task. Described here:
http://www.covington...nonrelease.html
I build two of those with no complication at all. If you only have USB ports then you use a simple RS232 to USB Converter and you are fine. I did so for my Nikon D5000 and Canon 350D.

#169 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6362
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 16 July 2014 - 06:53 PM

A very simple DIY Nikon USB Serial-RTS controlled shutter relase cable is here in CN.

On a different topic,
other than "BULB" setting, other shutter exposure time (e.g., ..., 1/60, ..., 5 sec, ..., 30 sec) all can be controlled by the PTP command issued from the regular USB connection. I.e., no second cable required.

For the regular shutter release other than BULB, it's set up the exposure time, then the "snap" does the shooting.

For BULB, it's really two commands: "curtain open" to begin the exposure, and "curtain close" to end the exposure. The duration in between these two commands is the actual BULB time.

BTW, this table has the info on which recently released Nikon cameras finally support USB based BULB shooting without the need to have the second "shutter release" cable.

Clear Skies!

ccs_hello

#170 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 17 July 2014 - 06:33 AM

ccs_hello

Many thanks for the instruction. I will make one for my D90 :)

Best regards,
Anat

#171 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 17 July 2014 - 11:06 PM

Hello,

I have modified iAstroHub to support one-axis guiding. Please download lin_guider from
https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

Then
1) Transfer the file to /home/pi/lin_guider_pack/lin_guider/ by using Mobaxterm
2) Change permission of the file
chmod 777 /home/pi/lin_guider_pack/lin_guider/lin_guider

The login username is root, password is ubuntu.

To use the one-axis guiding, "two axis" must be unchecked when you setup Linguider.

Best regards,
Anat

#172 anat

anat

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 689
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 18 July 2014 - 04:16 AM

Please download the patch to support the FTDI-based shutter cable from here
https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing
Unzip the file and copy files to /home/pi/www

You need to load the FTDI driver manually after starting iAstroHub. If there is a mount connected when booting, you should select "FTDI-based cable (ttyUSB1)". If you have only one usb-serial cable, please select "FTDI-based cable (ttyUSB0)".

You may need to change file permission:
chmod 777 /home/pi/www/* -R

Best regards,
Anat

Attached Files



#173 Awesomnia

Awesomnia

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 24 May 2013

Posted 19 July 2014 - 01:10 AM

Can anyone help me figure out what I'm doing wrong?

Everything seems to work perfectly other than my Orion StarShoot Auto Guider. I've connected via USB and followed the instructions to configure linguider to use QHY5 as the video device. But every time I restart linguider, it tells me that I have a video error and refuses to initialize the auto-guider.

I've tested the StarShoot out on my computer, so I know it works, it just doesn't seem to want to cooperate with iAstroHub. What can I check or do to try to fix this?

#174 Jason Lin

Jason Lin

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2011

Posted 19 July 2014 - 02:32 AM

Hi Anat,

first, I download the two patches, and are waiting for good weather to test the single-axis guiding. thank you for your work.

second, I have a problem using iah to control my QHY5L-II-M. When I first test it, it works fine and I get two 30s images. but after I am back from my Lunch, when I try to test it again, it seems that the shuttle release can not stop. Enclosed you can find a picture which also tell the story. I reboot the iah, but it do not help.

third: I loose my wifi several times today, it never happen before, it is also very strange. but after I reboot, it become fine.

forth: the FTDI driver with my 400D has similar problem as point 2. when I click "start", it starts to exposure, but never stop until I press "stop". BTW: when I keep the camera on, and then boot the iah, the camera will also start to exposure automatically when iah is on.

fifth: I also try my 6D, it is always OK with iAh. but today it also doesn't work....

I will re-install the system later on....

Jason

Attached Files



#175 Soncebos

Soncebos

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2014
  • Loc: Germany, NRW

Posted 20 July 2014 - 05:44 AM

Hello,
back from holydays, back to business.
I can start iAstroHub on my MK3066 device. I use a external USB Wifi dongle.
So i need to switch from eth0 to wlan0. I did change the settings in hostapd.conf, dhcp.conf and put wlan0 with static ip 10.0.0.1 in interfaces.
After reboot i still have eth0 with the ip 10.0.0.1. So i change it with "ifconfig eth0 10.0.0.2". Where else is eth0 defined?






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics