Jump to content


Photo

Atlas Pro

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 thesubwaypusher

thesubwaypusher

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2004
  • Loc: New York City

Posted 08 July 2014 - 12:38 PM

Sorry I don't have time to research this in the forums. I am quite certain it has been covered, but...

The Orion Pro mount looks really attractive to me because it is Altaz also. And I would like to try a C-14 for a while. Please:

1- The Cgem DX is too high. Does the Orion sit lower?

2- Does the mount have variable speeds on the slew rate? I need at times to quiet it down.

3- With a 44-pound payload, do you think I can get away with a 45-pound C-14, and about 7 pounds of accessories?

4- Lastly, has anyone tried a C-14 in altaz?

Thanks, Chris

#2 frolinmod

frolinmod

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1796
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 08 July 2014 - 01:50 PM

The mount slews quietly without needing to be slowed down.

I would not attempt to place a C-14 on it.

#3 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2913
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 08 July 2014 - 01:59 PM

3- With a 44-pound payload, do you think I can get away with a 45-pound C-14, and about 7 pounds of accessories?


Imagining? NO.

Observing? Yes IMO.

#4 BKBrown

BKBrown

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3211
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Northern Virginia, USA

Posted 08 July 2014 - 03:21 PM

Sorry I don't have time to research this in the forums. I am quite certain it has been covered, but...

The Orion Pro mount looks really attractive to me because it is Altaz also. And I would like to try a C-14 for a while. Please:

1- The Cgem DX is too high. Does the Orion sit lower?

2- Does the mount have variable speeds on the slew rate? I need at times to quiet it down.

3- With a 44-pound payload, do you think I can get away with a 45-pound C-14, and about 7 pounds of accessories?

4- Lastly, has anyone tried a C-14 in altaz?

Thanks, Chris



It's a really nice mount and I have come to appreciate mine a lot. That said...

1- The CGEM DX is higher because it sits on the same tripod provided with the CGE Pro; you sure don't have to rack the tripod legs out all the way on the Atlas if you want it real short.

2- Yes...and it's pretty darn quiet even at the highest slewing speed

3- No way I would do that for imaging, and certainly not on the stock 2" tripod.

4- No, but I have had my C11 Edge on there and that wasn't bad. Don't think I would want to try a C14, again, especially not with the stock tripod (it's a balance issue).

Hope this helps!

Clear Skies,
Brian

Attached Files



#5 thesubwaypusher

thesubwaypusher

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2004
  • Loc: New York City

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:34 AM

This is great. I assumed it would be loud like the Cgem. I guess it is like the Sirius.

Thanks!

#6 thesubwaypusher

thesubwaypusher

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2004
  • Loc: New York City

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:36 AM

Good to know. Thanks!

#7 thesubwaypusher

thesubwaypusher

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2004
  • Loc: New York City

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:42 AM

Hi Brian:

Actually, 4 pounds in accessories.

What I will do is try it in Altaz with plenty of counterweight and keep the tripod low. I'll also not engage the gearing and swing it around a few times and even observe with it. From the general consensus, it sounds like the 14 would be okay visually, as long as I keep it low. Then I will make then determination whether or not it needs a different tripod.

Thanks much!

Chris

#8 MarkCPC11

MarkCPC11

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2011

Posted 11 July 2014 - 08:24 PM

I noticed in the picture the weights have space between them, is there any reason for this, I never saw the need to have them apart?

#9 BKBrown

BKBrown

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3211
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Northern Virginia, USA

Posted 11 July 2014 - 08:46 PM

I typically rack one all the way to the bottom and then adjust the inside one to balance the load...just my way of doing business :grin:

Clear Skies,
Brian






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics